Subject and Course Guides: Disability Studies: Get Started

Find a Topic

Where to Find Ideas

Class discussions or readings
Presentations at relevant conferences
Articles in discipline related journals and trade publications
Relevant current events

Articles from Current Events Publications

Gather Background Information

Why Should I Start with Background Information?

Gain familiarity with the topic
Identify more specific aspects of the topic on which to focus
Provide context and identify differing perspectives
Identify experts related to the topic

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.

Encyclopedia of disability [electronic resource]
Containing a fully international range of views, experience, and expertise in entries that delve into an impressive array of topics, this five-volume encyclopedia offers an opportunity for the general reader and student to expand their knowledge and understanding of the lives, histories, circumstances, rights, facilities, laws, and cultures of the varied groups of people who have disabilities. E
Handbook of disability studies [electronic resource]
Drawing on the insights of disability scholars around the world and the creative advice of an international editorial board, the book engages the reader in the critical issues and debates framing disability studies and places them in an historical and cultural context.

Narrow a Topic

Narrowing a topic requires you to be more specific about your research interest and can help you to develop a thesis.

Questions to Narrow Your Topic

Who? Who is the specific person/group to which you would like to limit your research?
What? What specific aspect of the broad topic idea is interesting to you?
Where? To which specific geographic area or region would you like to limit your research?
When? On what time period would you like your research focused?
Why? Why do you think this is an important/interesting topic?

What is a Thesis Statement?

A thesis is typically a one sentence statement in the first paragraph, or beginning, of your project that states your purpose. Thesis statements should be arguable, specific, detailed, and meaningful.

Create a Research Question

These questions will help to transform your topic into a research question.

What is your topic?
What issues/concepts related to your topic do you need to understand better to develop a research question for your proposal?
What scholarly literature have you found related to these issues and concepts?
What gaps do you see in the scholarly literature related to your topic?
How can your research proposal address a gap in the scholarly literature?
Write a research question that, when answered, will help you to address that gap in the scholarly literature.