"Provides crucial and comprehensive information on the state's land, air, water, energy use, and waste generation gathered from a wide range of state and federal agencies, environmental organizations, and historical and scientific reference sources. The almanac is designed for quick, easy reference by the public, as well as by scientists and government officials and policymakers. Extensively updated since the first edition, it addresses such key issues as the quantity and quality of the state's environmental resources, present rates of consumption, and future levels of demand."
"Presents hundreds of in-depth weather records for 108 major U.S. cities and a climatic overview of the country, including 33 U.S. weather atlas maps. You'll find explanations, safety rules and statistics for hurricanes, tornadoes and more. New to this edition is a "Recent Weather" chapter, detailing major weather events from the last two years. Includes a glossary, subject index and a guide to additional weather resources."
"Originally compiled for participants at the second World Climate Conference (1990), the dictionary has been expanded to make it useful to anyone studying ecology, earth science, environmental science, or geography. It is therefore broader in scope . . . and will be widely consulted, particularly by nonspecialists. Entries are concise, informative, and easy to understand."
"A dictionary of political parties, events, and the people within the movement, it also includes an introductory essay, chronology, list of acronyms and abbreviations, a subject bibliography, and related Web sites. For some people, the most useful part will be the introduction with its explanation of the movement, discussion of influential writers, theoretical background, historical development, and elucidation of the development of Green political parties."
"Brings together the original writings of many experts in geography, meteorology, botany, geology and related earth sciences, and ecology and environmental science to create what is described as the first interdisciplinary reference tool on all aspects of global climate. The result is an excellent resource that covers an extremely broad range of topics concerning humanity's impact on Earth's climate and the subsequent effect these changes have all species on Earth. The 300 well-written and highly informative entries are accompanied by current bibliographies, maps, charts, diagrams, and up-to-date statistics."
Volume 1: The Earth System: Physical and Chemical Dimensions of Global Environmental Change; Volume 2: The Earth System: Biological and Ecological Dimensions of Global Environmental Change; Volume 3: Causes and Consequences of Global Environmental Change; Volume 4: Responding to Global Environmental Change; Volume 5: Social and Economic Dimensions of Global Environmental Change Each volume contains articles of between 1,000 and 10,000 words on major topics.
"Presents 750 entries on a wide range of topics related to climate change, both with regard to science and social, political, and industrial activities. Major entry themes for the latter include entries for individual countries, institutions that study climate change, government and international agencies, programs and conventions, and climate and society. Biographical entries are included for key figures. The entries concerning science discuss the atmosphere, paleoclimates, climate, climate change and effects, feedbacks, and models, with individual topics that include various types of alternative energy, climatic data from various sources, and the importance of various kinds of radiation."
The U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) is a Federal program that coordinates and integrates global change research across 13 government agencies to ensure that it most effectively and efficiently serves the Nation and the world.
Provides full-text access to official publications from the three branches of the U.S. Federal Government. Formerly GPO Access.
FDsys (Federal Digital System) is a service provided by the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to official publications from the three branches of the U.S. Federal Government. Publications available through this resource include the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Congressional Record, congressional bills, congressional hearings and reports, and federal laws. FDsys replaces the GPO's legacy site, GPO Access.
"Today's enormous development challenges are complicated by the reality of climate change─the two are inextricably linked and together demand immediate attention. Climate change threatens all countries, but particularly developing ones. Understanding what climate change means for development policy is the central aim of the World Development Report 2010."
Do you have any suggestions for books, series, bibliographies, etc. that should be included on this list? If so, post your suggestions in the "Comments."