Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1300 research-oriented serial publications focused on social work, human services, social policy and community development.
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1300 research-oriented serial publications focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development, including dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Provides links to UTA holdings including full-text articles in journals to which UTA has licensed access.
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals.
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of full-text academic journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of thousands of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
Includes more than 49,500 bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
LGBT Life is an indexing and abstracting resource covering world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes links to some full text resources.
LGBT Life is a focused resource covering world literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. The database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 180 LGBT-specific core periodicals and more than 310 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. It includes current coverage of these sources, as well as deep backfiles for key publications - many back to the first published issue. Examples of publications indexed back to their inaugural issues include The Advocate (1967), Journal of Homosexuality (1974) and Harvard Gay and Lesbian Review (1994). It also contains articles mined from more than 40 priority periodicals as well as more than 6,500 select titles. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications, including Journal of Bisexuality, Gay Times,Lesbian News, Journal of Lesbian Studies, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, Journal of Gender Studies, NWSA Journal, Women's Studies, etc.
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts of journal articles (1952 to present) and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1800 serial publications, including books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Provides links to UTA holdings including full text articles in journals to which UTA has licensed access.
Provides full text for 550 peer-reviewed journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
rovides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO. Nearly all full text publications included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. The majority of full text titles in this database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
Provides full text articles on current and retrospective issues in psychology from over 60 journals published by the American Psychological Association and from allied organizations.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Social Work Practice and Social Welfare Policy in the United States
by Philip R. Popple
Publication Date: 2018-02-23
The first new social work history to be written in over twenty years, Social Work Practice and Social Welfare Policy in the United States presents a history of the field from the perspective of elites, as well as service providers and recipients. A particularly unique feature of the book isthat it chronicles and analyzes the development of social work practice theory. As with other parts of the book, this is done on two levels: from the top down, looking at the writings, conference presentations, and training course material developed by leaders of the profession, and from the bottomup, looking at case records for evidence of techniques that were actually applied by social workers in the field. The data for the "bottom up" content in the book was obtained from archival records of agencies including the Philadelphia Almshouse, the Green Bay Wisconsin Department of PublicWelfare, Minneapolis Family and Children's Services, the New York Charity Organization Society, the Boston Children's Aid Society, and the Boston Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children.This text also places social work practice in its institutional context. It is argued that social work has had a significant role in three social institutions: public assistance, mental health, and child welfare. With this in consideration, the author argues that social work has completely lost itsplace in public assistance; has achieved its major professional goal of becoming a fully licensed and privileged provider of mental health services, but is at risk of losing its dominance in this institution due to the emergence of competing mental health professions; and maintains dominance only inchild welfare. He concludes that the profession needs to reengage with public assistance (TANF); develop strategies to regain dominance in mental health (expansion of the DSW as a practice degree is suggested); and continue to emphasize child welfare as a central professional concern.
The Policy-Based Profession
by Philip R. Popple; Leslie Leighninger
Publication Date: 2018-03-02
Help students connect social policy to the everyday practice of social work The Policy-Based Profession provides students with a process for analyzing policies that will help them with their careers in social work. It offers a detailed foundation for policy analysis, including chapters on historical, economic, and social policy analysis. Students then learn to apply the analysis framework to representative policies and issues in the fields of public welfare, aging, mental health, substance abuse, health, child welfare, and immigration. Correlated with the most recent Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) Competencies, the 7th Edition includes the most recent research, theories, and political developments impacting the field. An entirely new chapter on immigration policy highlights this critical social justice issue, the health chapter delves into recent happenings in health care reform, and the mental health chapter includes material on the opioid epidemic and returning veterans. Also available with the Enhanced Pearson eText The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content with check your understanding quizzes and end-of-chapter reviews. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; the Enhanced Pearson eText does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with the Enhanced Pearson eText, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and the Enhanced Pearson eText, search for: 013478426X / 9780134784267 Policy-Based Profession, The: An Introduction to Social Welfare Policy Analysis for Social Workers with Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134794249 / 9780134794242 Policy-Based Profession, The: An Introduction to Social Welfare Policy Analysis for Social Workers, -- Enhanced Pearson eText - Access Card 013479429X / 9780134794297 Policy-Based Profession, The: An Introduction to Social Welfare Policy Analysis for Social Workers
Home- And Community-Based Services for Older Adu
by Keith Anderson; Holly Dabelko-Schoeny; Noelle Fields
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
As older adults and their families opt out of nursing homes, a range of home and community-based services (HCBS) have risen up to provide care. HCBS span platforms and approaches, from home health care to assisted living to community-based hospice to adult day services. These models are, for most, preferable to nursing homes and allow older adults to "age in place"--live longer in their own homes and communities. Home- and Community-Based Services for Older Adults examines the existing and emerging models of HCBS, including the history, theory, research, policy, and practices across care settings. Emphasizing the multidisciplinary and interprofessional practice approaches used to deliver care, this book is an essential learning tool for students interested in medicine, nursing, social work, allied health professions, case management, health care administration, and gerontology. As the population of older adults grows, the authors ask, how can we best meet the needs of older adults and their families in the most effective, cost-conscious way while honoring their care choices?
Advocacy Practice for Social Justice
by Richard Hoefer
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Current economic and social forces are creating a society with less equality, justice and opportunity for all but the privileged few. Social workers are called upon by their code of ethics to counteract these trends and actively work to achieve social justice. Hoefer's empirically-based,step-by-step approach demonstrates how to integrate advocacy for social justice into everyday social work practice. The book shows through anecdotes, case studies, examples, and the author's own personal experiences, exactly how advocacy can be conducted with successful outcomes. Each chapter buildsupon the previous to provide a concise yet detailed blueprint for conducting successful advocacy.The previous two editions of this book have been used and admired by professors and students alike. Students value its clarity and praise the book for opening their eyes to what they often believed was "the scary and bad" world of politics and policy. After reading the book, they are motivated tobecome advocates for social justice because they understand how to do so. If you want to empower your students to effect changes in laws, regulations, and other types of policy at all levels, you will find this text the perfect resource to do so.
Advances in Understanding Advocacy and Improving Policy Practice Education
by Richard Hoefer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-07-04
A perennial issue in social work is the lack of clear evidence showing how to be a successful advocate and how to create enthusiasm among students for policy practice. Researchers are now applying theory to understand better the topics of effective social work advocacy and policy practice. The results of testing conceptual models with carefully gathered evidence are beneficial, helping us to advance our knowledge more quickly than merely collecting descriptions of case studies that remain unintegrated into a larger context. Improvements in understanding how to conduct effective advocacy emerge, helping practitioners to be more successful in their advocacy efforts. Similarly, bringing evidence and data to teaching methods improves confidence in their applicability to more than one course or institution. Readers of this book will discover how to be more effective policy practitioners as well as more engaging instructors by focusing on theories and evidence which demonstrate successful advocacy and teaching. This book was originally published as a special issue of the Journal of Policy Practice.
The Data CAVE provides support and services centering on data-driven research, e-science, and digital humanities data analysis. Services include teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, and data visualization; partnering with researchers in use and visualization of data through charts, infographics, and other tools; publishing datasets in Mavs Dataverse and other repositories; and reviewing data management plans.
VPN is a virtual private network connection that lets any student, faculty, or staff member, access campus resources from any remote computer that has an Internet connection, once the appropriate client software has been installed.