It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SOCW 2361 Introduction to Social Work: Finding Sources
Interdisciplinary coverage for urban affairs, business, international studies, education, nursing and other fields
This database has interdisciplinary coverage for urban affairs, business, international studies, education, nursing, etc. Specific themes listed include: Arms Control, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Democratization, the Department of Defense, Economic Policy, Education Policy, the European Union, Global Economics and International Trade, Health Policy and Health Care Reform, Human Rights, Immigration, Intelligence, Latin America, Science and Technology Policy, State and Local Issues, Terrorism, and Urban Policy. PolicyFile collects data from world renowned public policy think tanks including the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Cato Institute, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Economic Strategy Institute, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institute, Hudson Institute, International Monetary Fund, RAND Corporation, Urban Institute and the World Bank; university research program and publishers. Dozens of sources are combined to provide the user with a database of thousands of abstracts, fully searchable and linked via the World Wide Web. It includes information addressing virtually all aspects of public policy.
Contains coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations, government reports and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines
Contains coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations, government reports and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing.
Contains abstracts of literature on topics related to "social gerontology", or the study of aging within the psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Provides links to full-text documents.
AgeLine is a database that focuses on the population aged 50 and over and issues of aging. It provides indexing and abstracts for over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports related to "social gerontology", or the study of aging within the psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Most records contain links to the full-text documents. This database is designed to be of interest to researchers, health professionals, policymakers, employers, and older adults and their families. Coverage is from 1978 to present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.
Provides full text journals focused on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also includes several related reference volumes
Provides more than 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes over 850 periodicals indexed and abstracted with most peer reviewed. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Clinical Nursing Research, Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, RN and many more. Also includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise, and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs.
Provides full text for 550 peer-reviewed journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
rovides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO. Nearly all full text publications included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. The majority of full text titles in this database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
Focused on current military affairs, covering areas of engineering, public affairs, public policy, and international affairs
This database is focused on current military affairs, covering areas of engineering, public affairs, public policy, and international affairs. Includes full text for nearly 300 journals, 245 pamphlets, and CountryWatch country reports. Indexing and abstracting is provided for nearly 400 titles.
Google Scholar is a search engine that allows users to search for scholarly materials on a topic. Instead of searching the entire web (like Google), Google Scholar searches the scholarly literature provided by numerous academic publishers, professional societies, universities and scholarly organizations. Search results include citations from peer-reviewed journals, theses, papers, books and technical reports. For the most part, Google Scholar provides citation-only results. The full-text of an article or book can be accessed by using the Find it @ UTA link. If you are using Google Scholar off campus, you will need to set your ‘Scholar Preferences’ to University of Texas at Arlington.
Linking Google Scholar to UTA
Did you know that you can configure Google Scholar to offer links back to articles you can get through the University Libraries? Changing a few simple settings is all that's needed.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
Authoritative resource covering nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts of many titles. Use Chrome, Safari, or Firefox. Incompatible with InternetExplorer.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL), is the authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Material from over 1,600 journals are included in CINAHL; online abstracts are available for more than 1200 of these titles. Publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing are indexed. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
Provides references to a broad range of educational topics. Includes articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, reports and standards
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides extensive access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals previously included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, theses, audiovisual media, directories, monographs and government documents.
This database is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
The American Psychological Association's abstracts of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Indexing and abstracting of articles from nearly 10,000 journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Links to full text in the PsycARTICLES database as well as other full-text EBSCOhost databases.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical services, and more
Offers users access to information from all journals indexed in the National Library of Medicinevs MEDLINE file. Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical services, and much more. Links to full text of over 350 full-text journals. Included are abstracts and indexing for over 3,800 current biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries, and citations found in Index Medicus, The International Nursing Index and The Index to Dental Literature. Table of contents information for 2,400 titles (provided by the British Document Supply Centre) and a Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) index is also included.
Contains information on the fields of social work, social services, social welfare, social policy, and human services. NOTE: Only 8 simultaneous users allowed.
Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work, social services, social welfare, social policy, and human services. It includes abstracts of articles and dissertations. All areas of social work are covered, including theory and practice, many areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Social Work Abstracts is produced by the National Association of Social Workers.
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1300 research-oriented serial publications focused on social work, human services, social policy and community development.
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1300 research-oriented serial publications focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development, including dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Provides links to UTA holdings including full-text articles in journals to which UTA has licensed access.
"This project includes the digitization of manuscripts, early journals, narratives, reports, letters, photographs, prints, paintings, audio and video clips that document the history of social welfare in the United States, emphasizing two foci: the historical development of social welfare services, programs and policies in the state of New York; and in a parallel fashion, the history of social welfare provisions in the form of policies, programs and services by and for African Americans."