Google Scholar is a search engine that allows users to search for scholarly materials on a topic. Instead of searching the entire web (like Google), Google Scholar searches the scholarly literature provided by numerous academic publishers, professional societies, universities and scholarly organizations. Search results include citations from peer-reviewed journals, theses, papers, books and technical reports. For the most part, Google Scholar provides citation-only results. The full-text of an article or book can be accessed by using the Find it @ UTA link. If you are using Google Scholar off campus, you will need to set your ‘Scholar Preferences’ to University of Texas at Arlington.
Linking Google Scholar to UTA
Did you know that you can configure Google Scholar to offer links back to articles you can get through the University Libraries? Changing a few simple settings is all that's needed.
First, go to Google Scholar - http://scholar.google.com. Click on "Scholar Preferences" at the top of the page.
On the page that follows, scroll down to the section labeled "Library Links," and enter University of Texas Arlington in the blank. Click "Find Library."
You'll then see two options for connecting to URI's Full Text databases. Check both boxes.
Scroll down to the bottom of the Google Scholar page and click on "Save Preferences." The next time you search, you'll be linked back to UTA to locate full text of documents.
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of full-text academic journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of thousands of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts of many titles. Incompatible with Internet Explorer; often results in errors. Use Chrome, Safari, or Firefox instead.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL), is the authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Material from over 1,600 journals are included in CINAHL; online abstracts are available for more than 1200 of these titles. Publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing are indexed. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.