Skip to main content

SOCW 5301 Human Behavior and the Social Environment: Social Work Databases

Top Rated Social Work Databases

Social Work Abstracts 

Social Work Abstracts has been produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) since 1965, and it contains citations found in more than 400 social work and social service journals. Many topics are covered, such as, homelessness, child welfare, aging, substance abuse, public policy, community organization, child abuse, treatment therapies, and more social work topics.

PsycINFO 

PsycINFO covers all of psychology and the psychological topics of related disciplines written in 27 languages since 1887. Updated monthly, published by the American Psychological Association (APA), this abstracting and linking service provides more than two million citations from more than two thousand periodicals. More than ninety percent of the material cited is peer-reviewed. Many of the citations link to the full text articles.

Academic Search Complete

A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of full-text academic journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of thousands of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more. 

Link to all Social Work Databases

Best Database For This Class

Social Services Abstracts

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

Librarian Favorite

CINAHL Complete

Authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts of many titles. Incompatible with Internet Explorer; often results in errors. Use Chrome, Safari, or Firefox instead.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL), is the authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Material from over 1,600 journals are included in CINAHL; online abstracts are available for more than 1200 of these titles. Publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing are indexed. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.

You can use the link above to access CINAHL.

You can also access CINAHL through the library's web page:

  • Go to library.uta.edu
  • Select Databases A-Z (upper left corner)
  • Click on C
  • Click on CINAHL from the alphabetized list
  • If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in using your NetID username and password