Skip to main content

Social Work Doctoral Student Library Research: Citation Management

A guide to help incoming doctoral students in the field of Social Work. This guide is to introduce the students to key library resources to help them with their research and scholarship.

Citation Management Tools

Need help organizing your sources? Use a citation management tool to create personalized databases of your source references. Citation management applications will allow you to: import and organize citations, create folders for different projects, share folders with collaborators on group projects, format citations and create reference lists in various styles, and write and store your personalized notes and annotations.

EndNote

EndNote Online (EndNote Basic)

Register a personal account with your UTA email

EndNote (Basic) Online is an online reference management solution. EndNote online users can create an online library with up to 50,000 references and up to 2GB of attachments. As part of UTA's Web of Science subscription, EndNote Online offers users registered with UTA emails thousands of styles and hundreds of filters and connection files. Web of Science users may sign in to the Web of Science and click the EndNote link from the top menu bar to open your EndNote online library

Zotero

 

Zotero

A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Mendelay

 

 Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

 

I Need to:

Use:

Why:

…work from multiple computers or locations.

EndNote Online

Zotero

Mendeley     

Can be used on its own or with EndNote desktop

Zotero saves your citation library to your local computer, but syncs with multiple computers so you can work from home, work, or school.

Mendeley is a program that lives on your local computer, but syncs with a web account.

…work without an Internet connection.

Zotero

Mendeley

EndNote

Zotero, Mendeley and EndNote store your citation libraries locally on your computer.

…archive web pages and import citations from sites such as Amazon, Flickr, and ArtSTOR.

Zotero

Zotero allows you to easily save snapshots of web pages and annotate them within your citation library. It is a great tool for scraping citation information from web-based publications and some commercial and social networking sites.

…work on a group project or share my citations with others.

Zotero          

Mendeley     

EndNote 

Zotero allows you to share your citations through shared folders -- you can give individuals or groups permissions to add and edit the citations in the shared folder. Mendeley allows you to share citations and documents with a group of up to 2 other users, or create a public reading list that is open to all. EndNote allows sharing of your entire library with up to 100 people and EndNote Online allows sharing of one group from your library.

...work with unusual or complex citation styles, cite unusual document types or create my own document type

EndNote

EndNote has more citation styles than any other program, more flexibility, ability to customize styles.

...work extensively with PDFs

Mendeley

Menedeley has better ability to extract citation information automatically from PDFs, PDF full-text search-ability, and a social networking component to see what others in your field are reading and commenting on (particularly in the sciences).

Criteria Zotero Mendeley EndNote
Website http://www.zotero.org/ http://www.mendeley.com/ http://endnote.com/
Web based? Yes, works with Firefox browser and can sync with online account; connectors for Chrome and Safari available Not primarily, but can sync with an online account which is editable No, but can transfer library to EndNote Online
Operating System Windows, Mac, Linux Windows, Mac, Linux Windows or MAC
Cost Free for basic account, some cost for more online storage space Free for basic account, some cost for more online storage space $$, UTA community may download for free through portal
Word-processor compatibility MS Word, Open Office, Google Docs MS Word, Open Office, LaTex MS Office, Open Office, iWork Pages
Mobile Device Application 3rd party iOS and Android apps, web interface iPad, iPhone, 3rd party Android apps, web interface iPad, web interface
Number of citation styles About 16 pre-loaded, "thousands" available for download from Zotero Over 1180 Top 100 downloaded, over 4000 more available
Number of import filters 247 "translators;" other sources captured as web page About 50, + COinS, + integrates with Zotero's "translators" 700+
Import from databases Yes Yes Direct export from specific databases
Import citation info from web pages Yes, also archives the page and you can add annotations Yes, with a bookmark for a limited number of sites (mostly publishers or databases) only with EndNote Online bookmarklet
Storage capacity Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 100MB free Zotero file syncing (larger syncing plans available for purchase); or can use WebDav Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 1GB personal and 100MB shared online space (larger online storage plans available for purchase) Unlimited local storage
Attach associated files (PDFs, etc.) Yes, with option to attach automatically Yes, and can highlight and annotate PDFs Yes, and can highlight and annotate PDFs
Search full text of PDFs Yes Yes Yes
Duplicate detection Yes Limited Yes; fully customizable
Create group or shared libraries Yes Yes, free for up to 3 group members (larger group plans available for purchase) Yes, with up to 100 people and includes attachments and PDFs
Create bibliography with different styles Yes Yes Yes
Automatic citation extraction from PDFs Yes Yes Yes
Other features Sync library with multiple computers
Use tags to organize/search
Sync library with multiple computers
Sync with Zotero library
Insert figures and charts using word processor integration

 adapted from Penn State University Libraries