Biology 3442 Human Physiology Course Guide

Biological Abstracts is one of the foremost indexes on life science journal literature. The database indexes over 4,000 international journals and contains over 14 million archival records from as far back as 1926, with more than 370,000 citations added each year related to vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Subjects covered includes: agriculture, anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, biomedicine, bioengineering, biotechnology, botany, ecology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology. Updated regularly.

BioMed Central (BMC) is an independent open access publisher of peer-reviewed biomedical research. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. Subject covered include: biology, biochemistry, bioinformatics, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, neurosciences, physiology, plant physiology, and structural biology.

BioOne provides a unique aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact, peer-reviewed bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today's most pressing topics. Most of these journals are published by small scientific societies and non-commercial publishers. The database enables integrated access to interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Articles are available in HTML and printer-friendly PDF formats. Updated weekly.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.

A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. PMC is provided by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. All journals in PMC provide free access to full text though sometimes on a delayed basis. A variety of search options are available.

Access to information contained in the CAS and MEDLINE databases from more than 9500 journals. Some are full text. Besides journals, other sources include patents (some full text as far back as 1900 available), books, reviews, meeting abstracts, dissertations, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Subject areas covered: genomics, proteomics, biotechnology, agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science, packaging, petroleum products and many others. Unique to SciFinder-n is the capability to access millions of different specific chemical substances, including organic compounds, coordination compounds, polymers, biosequences, and alloys. From these records access to structure diagrams, names and molecular formulas are included. Access to millions of single and multistep reactions from journals, 1840 to the present are also available. Chemical source information, including supplier addresses and pricing information, for millions of products is available from hundreds of chemical catalogs. Further technical details are available in the SciFinder-n FAQ and theCAS Java download page. The SciFinder Scholar desktop applications method (client) is no longer available.