Engineering Sciences: Patents

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO):

• USPTO Patent Search: Offers a comprehensive database of U.S. patents and applications.
• Link: USPTO Patent Full-Text 

European Patent Office (EPO):

• Espacenet: Provides access to over 120 million patent documents from around the world.
• Link: Espacenet

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO):

• PATENTSCOPE: Includes international patent applications under the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) and patents from various national collections.
• Link: PATENTSCOPE

Google Patents:

• A user-friendly search tool that covers patents from the USPTO, EPO, and other international databases.
• Link:Google Patents

Free Patents Online (FPO):

• Provides free access to millions of patent documents from the U.S., Europe, Japan, and WIPO.
• Link: Free Patents Online

Lens.org:

• A global patent database that integrates scholarly data and provides tools for patent analytics.
• Link: The Lens

National Intellectual Property Offices:

• Many countries have their own patent offices and databases where you can search for patents granted within that jurisdiction.
• Examples include the Japan Patent Office (JPO) and China National Intellectual Property Administration (CNIPA).

Specialized Patent Databases:

• Derwent World Patents Index (DWPI): Provides enhanced abstracts and detailed indexing for patents worldwide. Often accessible through subscription services.
• LexisNexis PatentOptimizer: Offers tools for analyzing and drafting patent documents, along with a comprehensive search database.

Searching for patents by keywords alone can be difficult due to the multilingual nature of patents and the varied legal terminology used in their descriptions. To address these challenges, patent classification systems provide a standardized way to categorize patents, making searches more efficient and comprehensive.

Steps for Effective Use of Classification Codes:

1. Begin with a Keyword Search: Identify patents that align with your research or project.
2. Identify Relevant Codes: Note the International Patent Classification (IPC), Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC), or USPC codes on the patent documents.
3. Consult Classification Guides: Use resources like the WIPO or USPTO sites to understand what these codes mean.
4. Refine Your Search: Use the identified classification codes as search terms to find additional relevant patents.