Skip to main content

The British Isles & the British Empire: Home

Resources for researchers on the history of the British Isles - comprising England, Ireland, Wales, and Scotland - and what was once the British Empire.

UTA Library Online Resources

British Broadcasting Corporation

Loading ...

BBC RSS Feed for UK

Online Resources

British History Online - A digital library containing printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles, created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.

British Library Online Gallery - digitized maps, virtual books, and online exhibitions of more than 30,000 items from the British Library.

The difference between the United Kingdom, Great Britain and England explained

Click on image for video.

Online British Government Resources

  • The National Archives (UK) - The National Archives provides a series of research guides on a range of topics as well as access to digitized records, documents, and exhibits.
  • The National Archives (UK) - In beta mode, use Discovery to perform your search.
  • Parliament (UK) - The official website for the governmental body of the United Kingdom.
  • Parliamentary Archives (UK) - Access to the Archives of the House of Lords, the House of Commons, and other records relating to Parliament. Links are provided to digitized historical Parliamentary materials and to external websites with published materials.
  • The British Library - Searchable online catalogs with some materials accessible online. Some early printed materials may be listed only in printed catalogs or handlists, with guidance given in the Early Printed Collections.

Related Resources