Alt-PressWatch provides full-text access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals published by alternative and independent American presses, from 1970 to present. This database covers a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, education, grassroots organizing, indigenous peoples, labor, public policy, religion, and much more. Updated monthly.
CQ Almanac provides authoritative coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the U.S. Congress from 1945. The Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.
It is a full text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Search interfaces are in both English and Spanish. Information is available in the areas of politics, education, sociology, Spanish language, journalism, the arts, the environment, and ethnic studies. Groups included are African American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native Peoples.
Pop Culture Universe: Icons Idols Ideas (Academic) indexes over 3000 entries on American and world popular culture that support history, literature, and other social studies and humanities research and teaching. In additions to full-text articles, there are images and some videos. The database is continually expanded with revisions to existing entries and the addition of new content. The Ideas Exchange sections provide students with examples of research papers.
ProQuest Statistical Insight contains information from associations, commercial publishers, federal and state agencies, international intergovernmental organizations and research organizations. Included in Insight are the American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index and the Index to International Statistics.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Independent Voices is made possible by the funding support received from libraries and donors across the U.S., Canada and the U.K. Through their funding, these libraries and donors are demonstrating their commitment to open access digital collections.