Skip to main content

Anthropology: Create a Plan

Anthropology Guide: Anthropology spans the social sciences, the humanities, and biological sciences. It is a comparative, holistic discipline that includes a number of subfields including: cultural anthropology, archaeology, and physical anthropology.

Find Keywords in Guides like these to Aid Your Anthropological Research Plan

Keywords come to you out of the research that you are doing. Once you have chosen a topic then be aware of how that topic is described and take note of the words used to describe it.

Here listed below are three broad areas of research in which articles and books have been chosen to exemplify related topics. Note how varied the topics can be within each thematic listing. So, for example food includes drink (beer, wine, mead) as well as types of food (corn, potatoes, chocolate).

Anthropology of Food
Bibliography of academic articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that address research topics about the food from a cultural and cross-cultural perspective.

Anthropology of Migration
Bibliography of academic articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that address research topics human imigration issues.

Archaeology of Exploration
Bibliography of academic articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that address research topics about early world explorers.

Find Subject Headings or Descriptors for your Anthropological Research

Once you have identified a research topic, then select the keywords, technical terms, and key phrases that are essential to an understanding of that topic. Terms and phrases that have been used for quite a while may often be called subject headings or descriptors and these key terms may prove to be the most useful. 

When researching, you are like a detective searching for clues.  Combining the right terms in the right order and in the right place will help you to find the information you need.  Each key term may add to your ability to find yet more information so that in the end you may find all of the information that you are seeking.

Researching some topics is made easier if you know the jargon, lingo, or scientific terms used by the researchers themselves. So, for example, researching about primates works quicker if you note terms widely used in primatology.

Aegean Archaeology
Bibliography of academic articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that address research topics in and around the ancient aegean sea region.

Anthropology of Primates
Bibliography of academic articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that address research topics about non-human primates.

Limit or Expand your Anthropological Research

Researchers often want to limit research using some key variables; time, language, and geography are the most common. Most search engines give you the opportunity to limit your searches to just the last few years. Also, most give you a way to limit your searches to a specific language such as English.

Archaeology of Classical Greece
Bibliography of academic articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that address research topics in and around the ancient Greek world.

Archaeology of Egypt
Bibliography of academic articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that address research topics about the ancient Egyptian culture.

Visual Anthropology
Bibliography of academic articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that address research topics about visual anthropology.