This database is a linguistic tool created primarily to facilitate the work of United Nations staff members and other people around the world who participate or are interested in the Organization's activities.
Translation has long deserved this sort of treatment. Appropriate for any college or university library supporting a program in linguistics, this is vital in those institutions that train students to become translators.
E-Book Resource! Short essays on authors, books, and themes related to the literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. The essays range in length from one page for minor authors to ten for some country descriptions. Included after each essay is a brief bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Consists primarily of bio-critical entries about individual authors, but it also includes survey articles about national literatures and literary movements. All essays conclude with secondary sources, and author essays have a "Further Works" section, which lists works by the author not discussed in the text.
Articles range in length from one page to five or six pages. All are signed and include a bibliography of works by the author and periodical articles and books about the author. Many of the works cited in the bibliographies are in Spanish, although some English-language books and articles are included. The vast majority of entries cover Spanish women writers from the Middle Ages to the present and male writers who have important female protagonists in their works.
Provides extensive information about French women writers and the world in which they lived. Included are several hundred alphabetically arranged entries for authors, genres, literary movements, institutions, events, and organizations related to French literature. Each entry summarizes feminist thought on the topic, and provides bibliographical information.