Skip to main content

English: Searching for Textual Histories: Finding Sources

Here are some resources for searching for the textual histories of a book, as well as bibliographic information on the author. Use these resources to search for various editions of a book, translated editions, out of print editions, etc.

Textual History

Use the following resources to find information about your works' textual history.

If you are searching a database for information on various texts, you will state in your paper that you searched FirstSearch WorldCat or that you searched Google Books, but you do not need to list the database on your list of works cited.

 

Here is a link that explains HOW to use WorldCat to find edition information.

Book Reviews

Translations

If you are searching a database for information on various texts, you will state in your paper that you searched FirstSearch WorldCat or that you searched Google Books, but you do not need to list the database on your list of works cited.

 

Here is a link that explains HOW to use WorldCat to find translation information.

Print Resources

The annual report, Free People Read Freely, of the ACLU Foundation of Texas Banned Books Project, is now available in its 2009 edition, and provides information about the books that have been banned, challenged or restricted in Texas schools during the previous school year.  Look out for readings and banned books events in bookstores and libraries in your neighborhood.

You can find previous reports listed here http://aclutx.org/projects/bannedbooks.php

Reference

What is a Serialization?

The Victorians were not the only ones to have serialized novels, these links are merely to provide some examples of what serialized texts are.

Authorial Context

Use the following resources to search for information about your works' author.

Annotated Bibliography

Listed below are library resources which may be useful when looking for the sources needed for your annotated bibliography. Additional resources can be found on the English Subject Guide.

Literary Analysis & History

Use the following resourcs to find scholarly literary analysis of your work. Additional resources can be found on the English Subject Guide.

Challenged/Banned Books