Subject and Course Guides: Standards (Engineering & Industry): Standards at UT-Arlington Library

UTA Electronic Access to Standards for Engineering

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to the complete contents of the ASM (American Society for Metals) Handbook and several additional resources.
ASM Handbooks Online provides electronic access to the complete contents of the ASM Handbook published by the American Society for Metals (ASM). This resource, often referred to as The Metals Handbook, features extensive information and data about the selection, processing, performance, and analysis of all types of structural materials, including ferrous and non-ferrous metals. In addition to the ASM Handbook, users have access to: the ASM Handbook Supplements, the Engineered Materials Desk Edition, the Metals Handbook Desk Edition, the Reference Information Library, and the ASM Handbook Archive. Content for all of these resources is only available in HTML (web) format. Updated regularly.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, proceedings, bulletins, and standards published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). NOTE: Please select the 'My Subscription' button below the search box to retrieve search results that we subscribe to.
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast full-text collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). The collection includes journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, data series, proceedings, bulletins, and standards. ASTM standards, which include test methods, specifications, accepted practices, and accepted terminology, are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access and trade, and build consumer confidence. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, environmental engineering, geological engineering, health and safety engineering, industrial engineering, materials science engineering, mechanical engineering, nuclear engineering, petroleum engineering, soil science and irrigation engineering, and solar engineering. Updated regularly.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Please note that some publications contain reprint articles for which IEEE does not hold copyright.
Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)Mobile Version
Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET, successor to the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)). IEEE Xplore contains all of the IEEE and IET publications: Journals, transactions, magazines, conference and colloquia proceedings, and IEEE Standards.

How to Request Standards

This policy applies to individual and collected volumes of print standards housed in the UT Arlington Libraries and does not affect the collections of electronically available standards such as ASTM and IEEE.

Based on our “Just in Time, not Just in Case” collections philosophy, UT Arlington Libraries does not actively collect print standards. Print standards are tedious to keep up-to-date, and outdated standards have the potential to cause problems for their users. They are also exorbitantly expensive in both list price and processing costs.

For these reasons, print standards are only to be purchased when requested by faculty researchers and their designated proxies (for example, lab assistants and graduate students on their research teams). Special consideration will be made for undergraduate engineering students working on their senior capstone design projects.

Researchers may contact the engineering liaison librarian or use the library’s “Suggest a Purchase” form to request purchase of a standard. The engineering liaison librarian will review and authorize such purchase requests. In any situation, standards will only be purchased after the researcher has verified that UT Arlington Libraries does not already provide access to the current version of the standard, either in print or electronically, and that other avenues for acquiring the standard, such as interlibrary loan, have been exhausted.

Standards, Specifications & Building Codes Located at Science & Engineering Library

This section is under development. Contact the engineering liaison librarian for questions about standards available at UTA Science & Engineering Library.

SAE Handbook on CD-ROM by Society of Automotive Engineers
Call Number: TL151 .S62, Reserve
Publication Date: 2010
Includes all SAE ground vehicle standards current as of 2010. Available at the Science and Engineering Library Reserves Desk.
Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods of Sampling and Testing, and AASHTO Provisional Standards, 40th Edition by American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
Call Number: TE200 .A615 40th ed., 2020, group 1-3
ISBN: 9781560517566
Publication Date: 2020
The AASHTO Materials Standards contain specifications, test methods, and provisional standards commonly used in the construction of highway facilities.

Engineering Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, Bioengineering, Career, Citation Management Help, Civil Engineering, Computer Science Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Indus & Manufact Systems Engineering, Materials Science Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics, Public Health Engineering