Databases - Start HereEssential Journals
Keyword Search the Library's CatalogOnline Text Collections
Associations and SocietiesJob Search Sites
This is the "Home" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology Guide: Sociology is the scientific study of society and culture, including social interaction, and social relationships.
Last Updated: May 7, 2012 URL: http://libguides.uta.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Access

While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current UT Arlington student, faculty member, or staff member.  See this page for help.

Getting Started

    --> Sociology Databases <--
  • Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs)  
    Rating
    Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs) provides citations and abstracts on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Sociological Abstracts covers an international selection of more than 1,800 journals.
  • Academic Search Complete  
    Rating
    Academic Search Complete contains more than 5,400 full-text journals including more than 4,500 peer-reviewed publications. This is the "world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database" covering the social sciences,
  • Social Services Abstracts  
    Rating
    Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
  • JSTOR - The Scholarly Journal Archive  
    Rating
    JSTOR provides full-text access to more than 620 scholarly journals offering more than 886,000 full length articles going back to 1838.
  • PsycINFO  
    Rating
    PsycINFO covers all of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines written in 25 languages since 1887.

Journals in Sociology

Listed below are 15 key Sociology journals.

  • American Journal of Sociology (AJS)  
    Rating
    "Publishes articles and review essays on the theory, methods, and practice of sociology" (Ulrichsweb).
  • American Sociological Review (ASR)  
    Rating
    "Publishes work of interest to the discipline in general: new theoretical developments, results of research advancing understanding of fundamental social processes, and methodological innovations" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Annual Review of Sociology  
    Rating
    "Synthesizes and filters primary research to identify the principal contributions in the field of sociology" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Economy and Society  
    Rating
    "Interdisciplinary journal that covers the social sciences, history and philosophy with an emphasis on theoretical perspectives" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Journal of Marriage and Family (JMF)  
    Rating
    "Provides a forum covering theory, research interpretation and critical discussion on subjects related to marriage and the family" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Law & Society Review  
    Rating
    "Examines the relationship between society and the legal process. Includes the cultural, economic, political, psychological, and social aspects of law and the legal system" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Population and Development Review  
    Rating
    "Population and Development Review is essential reading to keep abreast of population studies, research on the interrelationships between population and socioeconomic change, and related thinking on public policy" (journal homepage).
  • Social Forces  
    Rating
    "Content highlights sociological inquiry, but also explores social psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Social Networks  
    Rating
    "Provides a common forum for representatives of anthropology, sociology, history, social psychology, political science, human geography, biology, economics, and communications science" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Social Problems  
    Rating
    "Provides a major forum for critical theoretical discussion and dialogue regarding controversial social issues and programs" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Sociologia Ruralis  
    Rating
    "Serves as an international forum for social scientists engaged in a wide variety of disciplines focusing on social, political, and cultural aspects of rural development" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Sociological Methodology  
    Rating
    "Publishes the best work on current issues in methodology for social research" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Sociological Methods & Research (SMR)  
    Rating
    "Disseminates quantitative research and methodology in the social sciences. It brings empirically-based articles from a variety of perspectives...." (Ulrichsweb).
  • Sociology of Education: A Journal of Research in Socialization and Social Structure  
    Rating
    "Publishes papers on educational processes and human development. The research may focus on the individual, institutions, or structural arrangements among institutions which have a bearing on education and human development" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Sociology of Health and Illness: A Journal of Medical Sociology  
    Rating
    "An international journal which publishes sociological articles on all aspects of health, illness and medicine, focusing on empirical research of a qualitative kind." Provides a sociological perspective on the theory and practice of medicine (Ulrichsweb).

Social Work & Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
John James Dillard
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
dillard@uta.edu
SWEL desk: 817-272-7518
Photo above of John with books.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip