Databases - Start HereEssential Journals
Keyword Search the Library's CatalogOnline Text Collections
DictionariesDirectoriesEncyclopediasGovernment PublicationsHandbooksIndexesStatistical Data
Find Theses and Dissertations of UT Arlington Students
Other ResourcesUT Arlington Resources
UT Arlington Statistics & Data ResourcesWeb Statistics and Data Resources
Associations and SocietiesJob Search Sites
Citation GuidesGeneral Research HelpInstruction OpportunitiesLibrary Course GuidesTopic GuidesTutorials and/or Database Guides

Home

      
     Search:
   

 
Off Campus Access

While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current UT Arlington student, faculty member, or staff member.  See this page for help.


 

Library Research Resources


 

Library Services

 

About the Library

 

 
What is Missing?

Woops! The content that this box is linked to has been deleted from the system.

 
 

Getting Started

 --> Social Work Databases <--
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete contains more than 5,400 full-text journals including more than 4,500 peer-reviewed publications. This is the "world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database" covering the social sciences,
  • Education Index  
      
    Provides citations for articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere dealing with educational topics. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are indexed.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    PsycINFO covers all of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines written in 25 languages since 1887.
  • Social Services Abstracts  
      
    Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
  • Social Work Abstracts  
      
    Social Work Abstracts is produced by the National Association of Social Workers and contains more than 40,000 records from 1977 to the present. Citations are from social work and related journals and some social work dissertations.

 

Important Social Work Journals

Listed below are just 15 important Social Work journals, for a more complete list of Social Work and other social science journals see:
  • Social Work Journals & Annuals. This is a copy of my UT Arlington Library's guide which gives the call numbers and links for many of the journals that carry articles of interest to social work researchers.
  • Administration in Social Work  
      
    "Provides current information to administrators, supervisors, managers and sub-executives in social work and related human services fields" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Affilia: Journal of Women and Social Work  
      
    "Brings insight and knowledge to the field of social work from a feminist perspective and provides research and tools necessary to make large changes and improvements in the delivery of social services" (Ulrichsweb).
  • British Journal of Social Work  
      
    "Publishes papers on the research and practice of every aspect of social work. Examines its principles and theories" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Child Abuse and Neglect  
      
    "Provides an international multidisciplinary forum on all aspects of child abuse and neglect, including sexual abuse, with emphasis on prevention and treatment" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Child Maltreatment  
      
    "Reports the latest scientific information and technical innovations relating to child abuse" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Child Welfare: Journal of Policy, Practice and Program  
      
    "Presents special problems facing millions of children who are homeless, abused, new to this country, or severly disabled" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Children and Youth Services Review  
      
    "Provides a forum for the critical analysis and assessment of social service programs designed to serve young people throughout the world, including in-depth coverage of child welfare, foster care, adoptions, child abuse and neglect..." (Ulrichsweb).
  • Families in Society: The Journal of Contemporary Social Services  
      
    "Deals with the theory, practice, and management of family, individual and group counseling and therapy for human service professionals" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Health & Social Work  
      
    "Examines health-related social problems and issues dealing with the client and the community" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Journal of Social Policy  
      
    "Provides a theoretical, historical analysis of social policy worldwide, and investigation of processes and obstacles to enacting social policy at local and national levels" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Journal of Social Work Education  
      
    "Contains research articles on education in the fields of social work knowledge and social welfare, focusing on developments, innovations, and problems pertaining to social work education at undergraduate, master's, and postgraduate levels" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Research on Social Work Practice  
      
    "Devoted to the publication of empirical research concerning the methods and outcomes of social work practice. It carries regular features that include new methods of assessment, scholarly reviews, invited essays and book reviews" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Social Service Review (SSR)  
      
    "Examines social welfare practice and evaluates its effects. Covers such topics as poverty, ethnicity, income distribution, family conflict, social welfare policy, mental health services, community development, and deviancy" (Ulrichsweb).
  • Social Work  
      
    "Includes scholarly research, critical analyses of the profession and current information on social issues"(Ulrichsweb).
  • Social Work Research  
      
    "Covers new technology, strategies and methods, and results of research and evaluation" (Ulrichsweb).

 
 

Social Sciences Librarian

John James Dillard

Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
dillard@uta.edu
cell phone: 817-675-8962
SWEL desk: 817-272-7518
Photo of John with books.
Email Me
View My Website / Blog
View My Guides

My Subjects:
Anthropology, Social Work, Sociology

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide

Description

  Loading content... please wait