Skip to main content

Finding Quantitative and Qualitative Research: Home

Accessing Databases

In addition to this guide, you can also access databases through the library's web page. Visit library.uta.edu, select "Databases A-Z," then click on the database's name (e.g., PubMed or CINAHL Complete) in the alphabetical list. (If you are off-campus, you need to then login with your NetID and password to access the database you selected.)

Differences between Qualitative and Quantitative Research
QUALITATIVE QUANTITATIVE
Methods include focus groups, unstructured or in-depth interviews, and reviews of documents for types of themes Surveys, structured interviews, measurements & observations, and reviews of records or documents for numeric or quantifiable information
Primarily inductive process used to formulate theory or hypotheses Primarily deductive process used to test pre-specified concepts, constructs, and hypotheses that make up a theory
More subjective: describes a problem or condition from the point of view of those experiencing it More objective: provides observed effects (interpreted by researchers) of a program on a problem or condition
Text-based Number-based
More in-depth information on a few cases Less in-depth but more breadth of information across a large number of cases
Unstructured or semi-structured response options Fixed response options, measurements, or observations
No statistical tests Statistical tests are used for analysis
Less generalizable More generalizable

Adapted from https://www.orau.gov/cdcynergy/soc2web/Content/phase05/phase05_step03_deeper_qualitative_and_quantitative.htm​

Searching in CINAHL Database

Click link below to go to database:

Search steps:

1) Select the major terms used to describe your topic

  • Use the term OR in between terms to broaden your search and get more results, or to look for terms that have lots of synonyms
    • Example: Vaccination OR Immunization

2) You may also want to select additional terms to describe a specific population, outcome, or aspect of your topic

  • Example: Children OR Juveniles 

3) Select terms that indicate what kind of research you are looking for

  • See the section on Quantitative articles to see how to select more of these terms
  • Example: Quantitative OR Randomized Control Trial OR ANOVA

 

 

You can search for a specific date range.  You can choose to include month and year or just year.  If you want to search up to the present, leave the second month and year spots blank.

To find articles written by Nurses or in Nursing journals, scroll down and check the box next to "Any Author is Nurse."

You should confirm that the article is in a nursing journal or if an author is a nurse by looking at the first page of the article.

 

If you are trying to find articles in CINAHL related to the definition or operationalization of a particular nursing concept, consider a search like the one below. 

  • In place of NAME OF CONCEPT, put your particular concept; ie. prevention. 

NAME OF CONCEPT N5 (defin* OR concept* OR operational*) 

 

N5 tells CINAHL to look for the word you typed for your concept within five (5) words of the word definition, concept, or operational.  This increases the likelihood that your results will be ABOUT your concept rather than articles that simply include the word.

The asterisk (*) used here provides truncation, which allows the search to include variations on a word. For example, defin* will find definition, defined, definer, defines, etc.

Loading

Searching in PubMed Database

Click link below to go to database:

Search steps:

1) Select the major terms used to describe your topic

  • Use the term OR in between terms to broaden your search and get more results, or to look for terms that have lots of synonyms
    • Example: Vaccination OR Immunization

2) You may also want to select additional terms to describe a specific population, outcome, or aspect of your topic

  • Example: Children OR Juveniles 

3) Select terms that indicate what kind of research you are looking for

  • Example: Quantitative OR Randomized Control Trial OR ANOVA

PubMed's main search screen gives on search box.  Group your terms together in parentheses and separate the groups with the word AND.

After you've typed in your search and hit enter, you can narrow your search based on publication dates.

PubMed does not let you search based on the author's credentials.  However, you can search specifically for Nursing Journals.

1) Select Show Additional Filters 

 

 

2) Click the box next to Journal Categories, then click Show.

3) Select Nursing Journals.

Loading

Your Librarian

Gretchen Trkay's picture
Gretchen Trkay
Subjects:Biology, Nursing