Skip to main content

RefWorks: In-Depth Help: Adding References

If you want to learn how to use RefWorks on your own, this guide has all the info you need.

Manually

Users can manually key in references into their RefWorks account.

  1. Click on  located under the toolbar, near the top of the page.

  2. Select an output style from the drop down menu next to Fields used by. Next, choose the Reference Type (i.e., Article, Book, etc.).

  3. Enter the reference information in the fields provided. You can access additional fields by clicking the Additional Fields link at the bottom, left-hand side of the page.

  4. Click on Save Reference when finished, OR Save & Add New when more references need to be added.

 

NOTE: Make sure to check the accurary of your reference.

Exporting an Individual Record

Most of our databases allow a direct export to RefWorks. Look for the Export function after doing a search.

An Individual Export from EBSCOhost Databases

  1. From the citation page of a record, click on the Export icon, found on the task bar located on the right-hand side of the page. 

  2. In the list of options, under the Save citations to a file formatted for:  select  and Click the icon.
  3. To view the new imported record, Click View Last Imported Folder; OR click Edit Imported Reference to choose a folder you want to add the record in by clicking Add to folder, then click Save Changes.​

 

NOTE: Make sure to log into RefWorks before exporting a record.

Exporting from Databases

Direct Export from EBSCOhost Databases

RefWorks allows you to import references directly from journal article databases into your RefWorks account. 

  1. Conduct a search.

  2. Click on the add to folder icon to save any results you want. NOTE: This is a temporary folder that "saves" your articles during your session, but articles are not saved if you exit the database.

Example:


     

      3. Click Folder box toward the top right side of the screen to view you saved results.

      4. Select the results and Click Export on the right side of the page.

      5. Check Direct Export to RefWorks under Save citations to a file formatted for: then click Save button.

      6. Click the Save button again if you had to allow pop-ups. 

      7. RefWorks will open in a new window (Note: If you are not currently logged into RefWorks, you will be asked to login.)

      8. The references you exported will appear in your Last Imported Folder.

NOTE: You will have to tell your browser to allow pop-up windows if you have a pop-up blocker activated!

 

Direct Export from NCBI Databases

RefWorks allows you to import references from  a file download in these databases

Watch this video to learn how to export from databases like PubMed: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zv-u614ASH8