Skip to main content

Oral History: Special Collections & Archives

This guide was created for students in the History Department taking in classes in which they conduct oral histories.

Oral History Release Forms

Prior to each oral history interview, the interviewer should inform the interviewee of his/her rights, the purpose of the interview, the goal of the project, the procedures that will be used, how the recording will be processed, final location of the recording and transcripts, and the potential uses of the recording.

Interviewers should allow interviewees to ask questions freely regarding the process. If transcripts are procured, then the interviewee should also have the opportunity to review the transcript and provide corrections, as needed.


The following forms MUST be read and signed by the INTERVIEWER and INTERVIEWEE prior to or at the time of the interview. Otherwise, the archives cannot accept the recording and make it accessible to researchers.

Transferring Oral Histories to the Archives

  • When transferring oral histories to UT Arlington Special Collections & Archives, it is mandatory that the Interviewer and Interviewee Agreement Forms be signed and turned in at the same time as the recordings.
  • The Agreement Forms can be located to the left of this box. It is highly recommended that you download and take these forms with you to your oral history interview. Oral history recordings cannot be accepted by the Archives unless the forms are signed by both parties.
  • As stated under the IRB tab, researchers cannot access oral histories unless IRB has been obtained and the Agreement Forms have been signed and dated at the time of the recording.
  • If you have any questions, please contact Betty Shankle.

Your Library Liaison

Betty Shankle's picture
Betty Shankle
Contact:
Special Collections and Archives
U.T. Arlington Libraries
702 Planetarium Place
Box 19497
Arlington, Texas 76019-0497
817-272-7511