Skip to main content

Connecting from Off-Campus: Common Problems

How to do it and what to do if you are having problems.

Common Problems

  1. I am able to enter my NetID and password into the page "Log in to use the UT Arlington Library's online resources" but I get errors when searching or nothing happens.
     
  2. When I try to access the resource from my school or workplace, I don't ever see the "Log in to use the UT Arlington Library's online resources" page to enter my NetID and password OR I receive an error message that says something like site blocked, unauthorized, connection refused, or requested URL could not be retrieved.
     
  3. When I try to connect to a library resource that is listed in my WebCT/Blackboard/StateU/Academic Partnership, or Epic class site, I can't access it.
     
  4. When I try to access a database or article I have added to my Bookmarks or Favorites or e-mailed to myself (Persistent Article URLs), it doesn't work.
  5. I clicked the link for a database but it says I am "not authorized to use this database". I've signed in before; why can't I now?
     
  6. How do I select the right database to search?

 

I am able to enter my NetID and password into the page "Log in to use the UT Arlington Library's online resources" but I get errors when searching or nothing happens.

If you see an error message that reads There was an error accessing this database remotely, please use approperiate links on the error page for resolution.

If you see a blank page or the page attempts to load but nothing happens after awhile, try to connect to a different database from the A-Z Databases page to see if another one is working. If that one works, then there is a probably a problem at the vendor's end outside the library, or we need to performance maintenance. Contact the library service desk staff at Ask Us or call 888-565-9023 so that we can work with the vendor to solve the problem.

Browser Settings:

You will need to enable Cookies, JavaScript, and Pop-ups because many online resources require these features to work correctly.  If you did not already take these steps, please do so now and see if the problem is resolved.

Personal Firewalls or Filters:

Firewalls work by regulating traffic moving in and out of your home network. Depending on which firewall you use, the default settings may be very restrictive or permissive. If you install or upgrade a firewall, you may suddenly notice that a web resource is unavailable.  Fortunately, most firewalls allow you to specify what can pass through to your network. Consult the documentation that came with your firewall software to learn how to change your settings.

Note:  Mac OS, and Windows 7 come with their own firewall, and they recommend that you activate this feature to secure your computer; however, doing so may restrict your access to library resources (check your setup manual).

When I try to access the resource from my school or workplace, I don't ever see the "Log in to use the UT Arlington Library's online resources" page to enter my NetID and password OR I receive an error message that says something like site blocked, unauthorized, connection refused, or requested URL could not be retrieved.

This is likely an institutional firewall issue. Many schools and workplaces use firewalls and/or proxy servers for network security reasons. Your school or workplace may be blocking access to secure websites. If you cannot access things such as Internet banking from your school or workplace, then it is quite likely that your employer is blocking access to secure sites.

Many problems involving remote access from a school or workplace will require the assistance of the IT staff at those locations. If they are willing, they can contact us about opening certain ports so that you can have access to the library's databases.  Please refer them to this form so that they can request the information they will need.

When I try to connect to a library resource that is listed in my WebCT/Blackboard/StateU/Academic Partnership, or Epic class site, I can't access it.

Sometimes the way instructors set up their class site may be incompatible with how the library has to regulate legal access to databases. Notify the instructor of the problem and ask them to contact their librarian; we will be happy to assist the instructor in correcting the links. Make sure you have ruled out any of the issues described above. Then, as a workaround, you can follow these instructions:

  • For finding an article for which you have the citation (author, date of publication, title, page numbers, etc.), go to Citation Linker. 
  • For finding articles on a general subject area, we suggest you use our Subject Guides to start your research.
  • For books, go to the Catalog.
  • For materials your instructor placed on reserve, go to Course Reserves.
     

When I try to access a database or article I have added to my Bookmarks or Favorites or e-mailed to myself (Persistent Article URLs), it doesn't work.

It is highly recommended that you always access library resources from the library website. If you are trying to access a database you have bookmarked or added to your favorites and you can't get in, you are probably not going through our EZproxy server, which authenticates you as a valid user. Therefore, you are not being granted access to the requested resource. It is also recommended that before accessing library resources, you first disconnect from UTA VPN, which does not carry all Internet traffic throughout your time using library resources, That results in not having consistent off-campus access to library databases.

Instead of using your bookmark or favorite, go to Databases A-Z, then select the database you need (e.g., Academic Search Complete). If you are on campus, you will have immediate access.  If you are off-campus, you should then be prompted for your NetID and password and can proceed with your search.

If you are off campus and trying to access an article from a link you sent yourself in an e-mail, you may need to follow the directions below to access it:

  1. For instance, if you send yourself an article link from EBSCOhost, it will have a URL similar to this one: http://search.epnet.com/direct.asp?an=8227851&db=aph&site=ehost
  2. You should copy and paste that URL into the box below to create a link that will have the EZproxy server affixed to it.
  3. Once you have created the new link, copy and paste it into your browser's address bar and hit enter.
  4. You should then be prompted for your NetID and password and can proceed.

1. Copy and paste the permanent URL here:

2. Click this:

3. Copy and use the resulting link

 

I clicked the link for a database but it says I am "not authorized to use this database". I've signed in before; why can't I now?

If too many people are using a database at the same time, you will be denied access. The subscriptions that the Library buys often have limits on how many can use a database at any one time. Unfortunately, the only solution is to wait a while and try again.

 

How do I select the right database to search?

Most databases focus on different kinds of subjects; for example, health or literature.  Your best resource is our Subject Guides. The Subject Guides recommend the best databases for that subject, as well as suggesting helpful print materials and websites. It will also tell you the name and email for the librarian who specializes in that subject.

You can always Ask Us for additional help.