This guide lists all the electronic databases that contain newspapers.
Last Updated: May 20, 2013
Historical Newspaper databases will have useful primary sources from earlier in history.
- The New York Times (historical)
Coverage: 1851-2008. Offers full-page and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue. Note: Issues from 1851-1857 published as The New York Daily Times.
- Chicago Defender (historical)
The Chicago Defender was a black weekly newspaper. Click on i button to see dates covered.
- Chronicling America: America's Historical Newspapers
This resource allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Dallas Morning News Historical Archive, 1885-1984
Digital image collection accessed by keyword and date searching. Documents major events in Texas, the United States, and the world, providing valuable primary source information. Classified and display advertising, photos and graphics are also included.
- Wall Street journal (historical 1889-1994)
- American Periodical Series Online
Coverage: 1740-1900 Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers (and periodicals)
- British Library Newspaper Archive
The British Newspaper Archive website will offer access to up to 4 million fully searchable pages, featuring more than 200 newspaper titles from every part of the UK and Ireland. The newspapers – which mainly date from the 19th century, but which include runs dating back to the first half of the 18th century – cover every aspect of local, regional and national news.
- Farm, Field and Fireside Collection
The Farm, Field and Fireside collection contains historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- The Texas Digital Newspaper Program
The Texas Digital Newspaper Program has digitized and preserved newspapers from over seventy Texas counties, ranging in date from 1829 to 2012. The map at this link http://tdnp.unt.edu/category/newspapers-online/
links to the TDNP newspapers available on the Portal To Texas History.
Coverage in the newspaper databases will vary however, they will generally not go back further then the 1980s.
- Access World News Research Collection
Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources including the Fort Worth Star-Telegram (12/1/90-Current), Dallas Morning News (8/12/84-Current), New York Times (1985-Current), and the Washington Post (1977-Current).
- Alt-Press Watch
Coverage: 1995-present. Alt-Press Watch provides full-text to more than 190 U.S. alternative and independent newspapers and journals. This database supports a broad range of subject areas: arts, media and popular culture, education, environment and ecology, history, journalism, etc.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Search interfaces are in both English and Spanish
Offers more than 10,000 of the world's leading news and business sources from 159 countries, 350 geographic regions and in 22 languages.
- InfoTrac Newsstand
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Included is cover-to-cover coverage from 1996- of the Austin-American Statesman, Houston Chronicle, The Financial Times, and the New York Times and The Times (London) from 1985- .
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to nearly 6000 international titles in news, business, legal, medical and reference information. Coverage includes national newspapers, international newspapers, non-English language sources, U.S. Federal and state case law, Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, and SEC filings. Wire services hourly are updated hourly.
- Newspaper Source
Citations, abstracts, and selected full-text of national, international, and regional US newspapers. Also provides full-text coverage of newswires and transcripts from TV and radio programs.
- Regional Business News
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Fort Worth Business Press, Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
- Research Professional (formerly ResearchResearch)
Research Professional is a source for information on U.S. and international funding opportunities and news on research policy and politics
- Texas Newspaper Collection
Access provided to sixteen Texas newspapers. (includes Fort Worth Star-Telegram) Database consists of full text content of local and regional news only. Access to certain free-lance articles may not be available
- List of online newspaper archives from Wikipedia
This is a list of free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives from around the world.
“Newspapermap provides a great way to browse nearly 10,000 of the world’s newspapers. The newspapers are categorized on the map by language. Each information window contains links to the websites of the listed newspapers and links to read the papers through Google Translate."
- Google News archive search
- Bain News Service
Bain News Service, one of the first news photography agencies, which started distributing photos to subscribing newspapers in 1898. (Click on View All to see all)
- Journalism's Voyage West
This visualization plots over 140,000 newspapers published over three centuries in the United States. The data comes from the Library of Congress' "Chronicling America" project, which maintains a regularly updated directory of newspapers.
- Australian Newspapers
It’s a national newspaper digitization project in Australia.