Native American History Guide
This guide is narrowly focused on resources that are of interest to Native American history students. For the General History Subject Guide, please click on the link below.
- History Guide
Subject guide for American and world history.
Databases - Native American History
In these databases, you'll find many articles, conference papers, reports, theses, books and more related to Native American history. Some of these databases contain the complete or full-text of the article, while some are citation only (they do not contain the full text). If you find a citation and need help finding the complete article, please contact the History librarian!
- Bibliography of Native North Americans
This database covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. - Ethnic NewsWatch
It is a full text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. - Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
This full-text work in progress documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. - America: History and Life
Source for United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present
Web Resources
- Web resources
Click here to see online resources on Native Americans - National Indian Education AssociationNIEA is the oldest and largest Indian education representing American Indian, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiian educators and students.
- The American Indian Film GalleryThe American Indian Film Gallery is the fullest compilation of motion pictures about the Original Peoples of North and South America in internet history. And, it is a dynamic collection. We constantly seek new materials to expand our visual offerings
- The National Congress of American IndiansThe National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities
- The American Indian and Alaska Native Population: 2010
Databases - American History
In these databases, you'll find many articles, conference papers, reports, theses, books and more related to history. Some of these databases contain the complete or full-text of the article, while some are citation only (they do not contain the full text). If you find a citation and need help finding the complete article, please contact the History librarian!
- America: History and Life
Source for United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present - American Memory from the Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
We Shall Remain (PBS)
- We Shall RemainMain site: From the award-winning PBS series American Experience comes We Shall Remain, a provocative multi-media project that establishes Native history as an essential part of American history
- We Shall Remain at UTALibrary
Government Websites and Documents
Government documents are an excellent source for primary and official texts. Some governments put their information online where it is easily accessible, while other documents are more difficult to obtain.
Take a look in the UTA library catalogue, and also look in other library catalogues (using WorldCat). You can make use of ILL (Interlibrary Loan) to get copies of relevant documents if UTA does not have them!
If you have any questions about government documents, please contact your History Librarian (me) or your Government Documents Librarian (Tom Lindsey)
- Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA)
Indian Affairs (IA) is the oldest bureau of the United States Department of the Interior. Established in 1824, IA currently provides services to approximately 1.7 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. - A-Z Index of Tribal Governments, on USA.gov
Index of Tribal Government Websites from the U.S. government. - National Archives - Resources on Indians/Native Americans
Access government reports and statistics as well as historical resources. - Native American Records at the National Archives
The National Archives holds information about American Indians who maintained their ties to Federally-recognized Tribes (1830-1970). Most records are arranged by tribe - National Archives Southwest Region in Fort Worth, Texas
As a center for historical and genealogical research, we have both an Archival and Microfilm Research Room for researchers. Our historical records date from the 1800s to the late 1900s, and include letters, photographs, maps, architectural drawings, and other documents received from over 100 Federal agencies and courts in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas. - List of American Indian Rolls of Microfilm Available
at the National Archives - Southwest Region (Fort Worth, Texas) Microfilm on Indian Tribes, Indian Schools and Non Indians in Indian Territory - American Indian nations count! : United States census 2000

- Federal Websites for Tribal Libraries and Tribal College Libraries
This is a guide to federal agency websites that feature information for or about American Indians. - American Indian Records Available on Microfilm at the National Archives in Fort Worth, Texas
The records listed below have been microfilmed for preservation purposes and to facilitate reference. - National Museum of the American IndianIt is the first national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans. Established by an act of Congress in 1989 (amendment in 1996), the museum works in collaboration with the Native peoples of the Western Hemisphere to protect and foster their cultures by reaffirming traditions and beliefs, encouraging contemporary artistic expression, and empowering the Indian voice.
Rafia |
Contact Info Office: Central Library, Rm. 311 University of Texas at Arlington (817) 272-7428 rafia@uta.edu Send Email |





Loading...
