Covers all aspects of literary theory, from definitions of technical terms to characterizations of literary movements. Geared toward students, teachers, readers, and writers alike; explains critical jargon (intertextuality, aporia), schools of literary theory (structuralism, feminist criticism), literary forms (sonnet, ottava rima), and genres (elegy, pastoral) and examines artifacts, historic locales, archetypes, and origins of well-known phrases.
Contains generally brief biographical articles on writers in Arabic as well as longer ones on literary genres, prosody, writing techniques, and related topics such as censorship and literary patronage. A brief bibliography of primary sources and secondary material follows each article.
More than 700 alphabetically arranged entries cover writers, notable works, genres, national literatures, influential newspapers and journals, well-known organizations and movements, and subjects of particular import to the region, like postcolonialism and vodou. More than 20 scholars contributed the entries, which range from half of a page to five pages in length and include cross-references and sources for further reading.
E-Book Resource! Short essays on authors, books, and themes related to the literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. The essays range in length from one page for minor authors to ten for some country descriptions. Included after each essay is a brief bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Consists primarily of bio-critical entries about individual authors, but it also includes survey articles about national literatures and literary movements. All essays conclude with secondary sources, and author essays have a "Further Works" section, which lists works by the author not discussed in the text.
This comprehensive reference provides a much needed synthesis of the contribution women have made to German literature and culture. In entries for more than 500 topics, the volume surveys literary periods, epochs, and genres; critical approaches and theories; important authors and works; female stereotypes; laws and historical developments; literary concepts and themes; and organizations and archives relevant to women and women's studies.
Provides extensive information about French women writers and the world in which they lived. Included are several hundred alphabetically arranged entries for authors, genres, literary movements, institutions, events, and organizations related to French literature. Each entry summarizes feminist thought on the topic, and provides bibliographical information.
Articles range in length from one page to five or six pages. All are signed and include a bibliography of works by the author and periodical articles and books about the author. Many of the works cited in the bibliographies are in Spanish, although some English-language books and articles are included. The vast majority of entries cover Spanish women writers from the Middle Ages to the present and male writers who have important female protagonists in their works.