Why study the medieval and early modern periods? Because there is something in these periods that speaks to every interest—globalization, environmentalism, ethnicity, religion, new media ... the list is endless. This guide will help you in your research
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of full-text academic journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of thousands of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
Designed to meet the research needs of the medievalist
The Middle English Compendium offers access to three major Middle English electronic sources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, A HyperBibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse, and The Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. Interconnectivity through hypertext links increases the power and potential of each. The Compendium is an essential electronic resource for medievalists.
The International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB), established in 1967, is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages.
The International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB), established in 1967, is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages. It indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. It covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Discipline areas to which it is relevant: Archaeology, Art History, Classics, English Literature, French Language and Literature, History, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, and Philosophy.
provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
There are over 17,000 records in the database currently, and more than five hundred records are added every four months. We index the most current year for which full journal volumes are available along with backlog years, and we are now working both on 2005-2006 and on the remaining publications from 1990 through 2004.