Skip to main content

McNair Scholars: Subject Databases

What's on this Page

In the boxes below you will find a list of the top 5 relevant databases for subject specific research based on the 2013 McNair Scholars research interest.  Use these databases to search for online/full-text articles that support your hypothesis/research paper.  Use the links below to jump to a specific subject topic.  Each box contains links to other research helps.

  AnthropologyBioengineering, Biology

Chemistry/BiochemistryCommunication StudiesEducation,

English, History, Kinesiology,  Mathematics, Music, PhilosophyPsychology

Anthropology

Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from the Tozzer Library at Harvard University and the Anthropological Index of the the Museum of Mankind Library of the Royal Anthropological Institute.

AnthroSource
AnthroSource provides indexing and full text access to current issues and back volumes for several peer-reviewed journals and all of the recent issues of the American Anthropological Association's (AAA) newsletters and bulletins.

Academic Search Complete 
Academic Search Complete contains more than 5,400 full-text journals including more than 4,500 peer-reviewed publications. This is the "world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database" covering the social sciences,

JSTOR - The Scholarly Journal Archive 
JSTOR provides full-text access to more than 620 scholarly journals offering more than 886,000 full length articles going back to 1838.

Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs) 
Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs) provides citations and abstracts on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Sociological Abstracts covers an international selection of more than 1,800 journals.

 

For more research help in Anthropology see:
     Anthropology subject guide: libguides.uta.edu/anthropology

Bioengineering

Compendex (Engineering Village)
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of full-text academic journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of thousands of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
BioMed Central
An independent, open access publisher of biomedical research, including journal articles, current reports and meeting abstracts
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical services, and more
ScienceDirect
Database for scientific research that includes journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. 
 
 
For more research help in Bioengineering see:
Bioengineering subject guide: libguides.uta.edu/BE

Biology

Biological Abstracts
describes international life science journal literature - many full text links; includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.

Gene
integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.

BioOne
aggregation of nearly 70 bioscience research journals from more than 50 scholarly society and non-commercial publishers; primarily biology, ecology and the environmental sciences.

Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.

BLAST
Provides gene and protein sequences.

 

For more research help in Biology see:

Biology subject guide: libguides.uta.edu/biology

Chemistry/ Biochemistry

American Chemical Society
Provides full text magazines and peer-reviewed journals published by the American Chemical Society.

Royal Society of Chemistry
A major publisher and provider of chemical information and supports the teaching of chemistry at all levels.

Science Direct
Includes full-text journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

SciFinder
Subject coverage: genomics, proteomics, biotechnology, agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science, packaging, petroleum products and many others. Unique to SciFinder is the capability to access millions of different specific chemical substances, including organic compounds, coordination compounds, polymers, biosequences, and alloys and access to structure diagrams, names and molecular formulas.

 

For more research help in Chemistry see:
     Chemistry subject guide: libguides.uta.edu/CHEM

Communication Studies

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMCC) covers areas related to communication and mass media.
ComAbstracts
Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) fields.
WARC
Warc provides intelligence solutions for students, faculty and staff in marketing, advertising and mass communications.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of full-text academic journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of thousands of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers
 
 
For more research help in Communication studies see:
Communication studies subject guide: libguides.uta.edu/communication

Education

ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Provides references to a broad range of educational topics.

Education Abstracts
Provides citations for articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere dealing with educational topics. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are indexed.

Education: A Sage Full-Text Collection
Go to the advance search and limit to Education.

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

 

For more research help in Education see:
     Education Subject Guide: http://libguides.uta.edu/education

English

MLA International Bibliography
Provides access to citations from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Coverage: 1926-present

Literature Resource Center
Contains information on both classical and contemporary authors and their works. Obtain biographies of authors, bibliographies of all they have written, critical essays and contextual information.

Academic Search Complete
Peer-reviewed full text articles for almost 4600 periodical titles in the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, etc.

Project Muse
Coverage: 1993-present. Full-text articles in humanities, arts, and social sciences from quality journal titles. Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

JSTOR - The Scholarly Journal Archive
Coverage: The majority of journals in the archive have time lags of between 3 and 5 years (time lag = time between the most current issue published and issues available in JSTOR) JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers.


For more research help in English see:
     English Subject Guide: http://libguides.uta.edu/english

History

Historical Abstracts
Contains citations and abstracts to literature on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life)
America: History and Life
Provides indexing and abstracts for U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural literature, from prehistory to present.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of full-text academic journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of thousands of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
In-depth coverage of Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States in scholarly journals from around the world.
 
 
For more research help in History see:
History subject guide: http://libguides.uta.edu/history

Kinesiology

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
A major resource for indexing and full text for sports, fitness & sports medicine journals and other literature
Physical Education Index
Provides indexing and abstracting of peer-reviewed journals, trade magazines, popular magazines and other materials. Covers all areas of physical education
ScienceDirect
Database for scientific research that includes journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of full-text academic journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of thousands of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
 
 
For more research help in Kinesology see:
Kinesiology subject guide: http://libguides.uta.edu/kinesiology
 

Mathematics

MathSciNet
Two American Mathematical Society produced databases are combined in MathSciNet: Mathematical Reviews covers from 1940 to the present and Current Mathematical Publications covers recent and forthcoming publications.

SIAM Journals Online
Full-text and graphics access to all the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics' journals. In addition, Locus, SIAM's online journal archive, provides full-text access to holdings for 1952-1996.

Inspec
Indexes a core group of over 100 titles primarily in Applied Mathematics.

Project Euclid
"Designed by Cornell University Library to meet the needs of mathematicians and statisticians, and the requirements of librarians, for a cost-effective analog to conventional and costly serials and services."

Project Muse
"Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics."

ScienceDirect
"ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of 2000+ Elsevier Science and Academic Press jourrnals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet."

Web of Knowledge
Indexes core literature in the sciences including mathematics, applied mathematics, interdisciplinary applications, biology and computer science.

 

For more research help in Mathematics see:
     Mathematics Subject Guide: http://libguides.uta.edu/math

Music

IIMP Full Text (International Index to Music Periodicals)

IIMP covers all aspects of the world of music, from both scholarly and popular music journals. Subjects covered include musicians, history of music, musicology,  instruments, music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition, world music, obituaries. Some journals are available in full text format.

JSTOR: Music

This database and the information in it are protected by copyright. Users of JSTOR may (1) search, view and display results, and (2) print or download single copies of documents retrieved for personal use.  JSTOR is a full text archive of core journals, currently including over 80 music titles.  Journal issues from the most recent 3 to 5 years are usually NOT electronically available here.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature provides comprehensive coverage of international publications on music, including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.

 

For more research help in Music see:

Music subject guide: http://libguides.uta.edu/music

Philosophy

 
 
For more research help in Philosophy see:
Philosophy subject guide: http://libguides.uta.edu/philosophy

Psychology

PsycINFO (Advanced Search)
Nearly 2,500 journals indexed

PsycArticles
81 APA published journals indexed

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides full text for 550 peer-reviewed journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods

 

 

For more research help in Psychology see:
     Psychology Subject Guide: http://libguides.uta.edu/psychology