• Be sure I know my NetID & password
• Have $$$ on my MavID if using any on-campus printers
• Know my subject librarian & his/her contact info or help in general
• Know how to search in the online catalog for a book or journal title
– Recall a book checked out to someone else
– Retrieve a book or journal from the LCD (Library Collections Depository)
• Know how to get materials the library doesn’t have
– Create an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account: https://uta.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/index.htm
• No charge, library receives & sends back book(s)
– Search WorldCat database: https://login.ezproxy.uta.edu/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=WorldCat
• To see if book or journal is available in a library in the Metroplex or elsewhere
• Consider getting a TexShare card
– To check out materials from other Texas libraries: http://library.uta.edu/borrowing
• Patron responsible for returning book(s) to the TexShare library
• Know how to find the appropriate databases
– Subject and Course Guides: http://libguides.uta.edu/
– A-Z database listing: http://www.uta.edu/library/databases/index.php
• Know what citation style to use
– APA, MLA, CBE, ACS, Turabian, IEEE, AP…
• Create a RefWorks account
– Allows users to create their own personal database of references. These references can be used in writing bibliographies for papers and are automatically formatted for the paper and the bibliography according to selected output style.
• Select a topic and gather background information
– Dictionaries, encyclopedias, browse journals
– Build a vocabulary: keywords, subject headings, synonyms or related terms
• Do I need a primary (scholarly) or secondary (popular) source?
• Use resources to locate information on the topic
– Online catalog – books, journals, etc.
– Databases – articles, conference proceedings, reports
– A professional in that field
– Use authoritative websites on the Internet
Google Scholar is a search engine that allows users to search for scholarly materials on a topic. Instead of searching the entire web (like Google), Google Scholar searches the scholarly literature provided by numerous academic publishers, professional societies, universities and scholarly organizations.
Search results include citations from peer-reviewed journals, theses, papers, books and technical reports.
For the most part, Google Scholar provides citation-only results. The full-text of an article or book can be accessed by using the Find it @ UTA link.
If you are using Google Scholar off campus, you will need to set your ‘Scholar Preferences’ to Univesity of Texas at Arlington.
• Start EARLY!!