APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA style. - NetID and password login required.
Citation Sources - Trinity University
Offers a variety of citation styles with examples. Need to create an annotated bibliography?
Checkout Trinity University's Citing Sources website.
Citing Business Databases - APA style
Excellent citing listing - provided by the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.
Citing Factiva database - APA style
Randolph-Macon College, Ashland, Virginia
A tool that allows users to create a personal database of research, download citations and generate accurate,
concise bibliographies for research papers.
How to use RefWorks - Quick step-by-step guide. (PDF) RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database
manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online
databases. These references can be used in writing bibliographies for papers and to automatically format the paper
and the bibliography in seconds. Various writing styles are accommodated. The RefWorks Write-N-Cite module
requires the UT Arlington Group Code. Off-campus users of Write-N-Cite must login using the Group Code to
download the free utility. Get Group Code
"Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."
Easy Bib will help you to cite your sources. Just remember that you need to double check that the content and
formatting is correct.
Before starting to search an article database for information on your topic some thought should be put into what you need for the assignment, paper or project. This planning will help save time and provide more relevant search results. The suggestions listed below are meant as a guide to help you plan your research.
Topic: Healthcare Costs in the United States
1. Break the topic down into main concepts. (healthcare, costs, united states)
2. What sort of information are you seeking – case studies, data, theories, reviews and etc.
3. Create a list of “keywords” that are important to your topic. (health care, healthcare, medical care, costs, benefits, expenses, expenditures, medical costs, medical benefits, United States)
4. Think about ways to combine these words using AND or OR
a. (healthcare AND costs) = AND search looks for both words and will narrow the search results
b. (costs OR benefits) = OR search broadens the search results.
5. Do any of your words belong in phrases or strings – together in a certain order, like a cliché`? Search these as a phrase quote: “medical costs” or “ medical benefits”
6. Apply a truncation symbol to search terms
a. Truncation symbol at the end of a word stem provides for all variants on the word stem. The most commonly used symbol is the asterisk (*), but this varies among the databases. For example, a search for strate* will retrieve: strategy, strategies, strategically, etc.
7. What type of Database
a. Full-text includes the entire article
b. Abstract – includes an article citation
8. Apply limits to the search
a. Where to search – in the text, title, abstract
b. What kind of publication
i. scholarly, newspaper, trade or popular magazine
c. Do you want current articles – last 5 years, or does not matter?
9. Can you think of societies, organizations, or groups that might have information on your subject? [search these as a “phrase in quotes”]
Start out with a general search and then get more specific. You want to see all of what’s out there on your topic. You can always refine it as you continue searching.
Google & Google Scholar
1. Use the “Advances Search” option when searching these engines for better control of your search results.
2. Set Google Scholar “preferences” to UT Arlington Library – “Find It @ UTA”
If you do not find what you need within 20 to 30 minutes
Ask a Librarian for HELP!