Call Number: PN1993.45 .K34 2005 (request from storage)
"The Film Encyclopedia contains biographies and filmographies of actors, directors, producers, and cinematographers, as well as screenwriters, editors, musical directors, production designers, and critics. You can look up films by nationality and find a history of a given country's contribution to the art. Technical data is also indexed, so you can read not only about film stock and the apparatus of the camera, but also about the duties of the gaffer, the key grip, and the best boy."
"A comprehensive, four-volume film encyclopedia with substantive articles written by contributors with stellar academic credentials. The Schrimer Encyclopedia of Film is intended to offer 'a comprehensive and accessible overview of film history and theory with an American emphasis" to students, teachers, and general readers.'
This "film reference is divided into nine chapters covering countries throughout North Africa and the Middle East, including Central Asia (the former Soviet republics), Egypt, Iran, Israel, Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, The Maghreb, Palestine, and Turkey. Each chapter is written by a specialist in a particular region and gives the history and major issues of its filmmaking, biographical information on leading directors and actors, and annotated filmographies of significant works."
"Not only does this Encyclopedia examine individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation. With over 200 film stills, this resource provides the decisive entry point into the history of an art form."
"Offers comprehensive coverage at a time when Chinese cinema has won international acclaim through the work of directors like Chen Kaige and Zhang Yimou (mainland China), John Woo (Hong Kong), and Hou Hsiao-hsien (Taiwan). Six incisive historical essays precede the main body of entries on film people, synopses, genres, studios, and subjects. The essays alone offer great assistance, but when they are coupled with the cross-referenced entries and the handsome photographs, the work's value crystallizes. A thorough bibliography, multiple indexes, and an annotated list of select websites further enhance the volume."
"Including a wide-ranging selection of essays from key voices in the field, the Reader charts the development of the scholarship on popular Hindi cinema, with an emphasis on understanding the relationship between cinema and colonialism, nationalism, and globalization."