A double-blind peer-review, open access journal, published twice annually. Each issue is structured around a different theme dedicated to film and moving images, with a specific emphasis upon interdisciplinary, transnational, and emerging theoretical approaches to moving image practices and cultures.
Bright Lights is one of the most widely read, quoted, and respected movie sites on the Web, mixing savvy pop reviews with in-depth analysis of current and classic, edgy and indie, international and experimental cinema – with wit and a political edge.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMCC) covers areas related to communication and mass media.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMCC) covers areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Along with indexing and abstracting of communication content, CMMC includes full text for over 450 journals.
An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture that includes full-text articles, images, and videos
Pop Culture Universe: Icons Idols Ideas (Academic) indexes over 3000 entries on American and world popular culture that support history, literature, and other social studies and humanities research and teaching. In additions to full-text articles, there are images and some videos. The database is continually expanded with revisions to existing entries and the addition of new content. The Ideas Exchange sections provide students with examples of research papers.
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of full-text academic journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of thousands of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
A database of video, DVD, audio CD and CD-ROM reviews of materials from major educational and documentary distributors and independent filmmakers.
Educational Media Reviews Online (EMRO) is a database of video, DVD, audio CD and CD-ROM reviews of materials from major educational and documentary distributors and independent filmmakers. The reviews are written by librarians and teaching faculty in institutions across the United States and Canada. The reviews are given one of four ratings: Highly Recommended, Recommended, Recommended with reservations or Not Recommended.
Indexes international critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore
Provides access to citations from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts in addition to the historical aspects of printing and publishing. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Theatre in Video brings together more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays,together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
Theatre in Video contains hundreds of titles of the world's leading playwrights, actors, and directors, including all 37 of the legendary BBC Shakespeare productions. Film documentaries, online in streaming video, and live performances cover pre-eminent names in the theatre: Henrik Ibsen, Eugene O'Neill, Arthur Miller, Samuel Beckett, Konstantin Stanislavsky, Tennessee Williams, and many more.
Provides indexing for articles, art reproductions, biographies, conference reports, dissertations, exhibitions, reviews, and more. Some resources provide full-text access. NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.
Art Index provides indexing for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations published throughout the world covering all subject areas related the arts, as well as 200,000 reproductions of works of art within publications. Resources are primarily available in English with some available in foreign languages, including Spanish, German, and French. In addition to scholarly and commercial articles, this database contains citations for bibliographies, biographies, conference reports, exhibitions, obituaries, reviews, and more. Some resources published from 1997 to present provide PDF full-text access. Subjects covered include art history and criticism, architecture and architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, and much more. This is an ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers. Updated regularly.
NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.
Newspaper articles can be useful in looking for reviews and reactions to films and television shows.
Contains information on topics related to business, communications, economics, controversial issues, education, government, political science, and more from a variety of news media, including the Dallas Morning News and Fort Worth Star-Telegram.
NewsBanks' Access World News Research Collection is a comprehensive collection of American and international news media, including print and online-only newspapers, newswires, blogs, broadcast transcripts, videos, and journals, produced from 1978 to present. Use it to discover information on topics related to business, communications, economics, controversial issues, education, government, political science, and more. The database can be searched/browsed directly or through one of its topical collections, including Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires and Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias. Provides access to news publications such as the Dallas Morning News, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, and USA Today.
Factiva.com offers more than 25,000 of the world's leading news and business sources from 159 countries, 350 geographic regions and in 22 languages.
Factiva features: 2,100+ Newspapers: Same-day and archival coverage of the world's most influential newspapers, including The Wall Street Journal, South China Morning Post, The Times, El Pais, Les Echos und Süddeutsche Zeitung - as well as local newspapers from every corner of the globe. 3,500+ Magazines: General business titles and the "must-read" industry publications for knowledge-driven markets, including The Economist, Finanz and Wirtschaft, Satellite News, Computerworld, and more. 500+ Newswires: Breaking news from Dow Jones, Reuters and the Associated Press, as well as PR Newswire, M2 Presswire and other regionally focused and industry newswires. 280+ Media programs: Transcripts from BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, and more. 12,000+ Web sites: The world's top news and business Web sites in more than 20 languages. 32,000+ Company reports: Customized profiles of public companies from around the world, including detailed company and industry research from Investext. 7,000+ Pictures added each week: Photographs from Reuters and McClatchy - Tribune Photo Service capture the pressing events of the day. Historical Market Data: Historical market data from blue-chip suppliers Reuters Investor and SunGard PowerData, going back as far as 1973, and capital changes back to 1968. 1.2 Million+ EUR-Lex documents: Articles from the official database for the European Union. Content available in 22 languages: English, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese (traditional and simplified), Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish and Turkish.
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Search interfaces are in both English and Spanish
It is a full text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Search interfaces are in both English and Spanish. Information is available in the areas of politics, education, sociology, Spanish language, journalism, the arts, the environment, and ethnic studies. Groups included are African American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native Peoples.
This newspaper archive is a unique image collection that is accessible by keyword and date searching
A unique digital image collection that is accessible by keyword and date searching. It documents major events in Texas, the United States, and the world. Classified and display advertising, photos and graphics are included.
Provides full-text coverage of U.S. alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Alt-PressWatch provides full-text access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals published by alternative and independent American presses, from 1970 to present. This database covers a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, education, grassroots organizing, indigenous peoples, labor, public policy, religion, and much more. Updated monthly.