Databases - Start HereMagazines and NewspapersOther Useful DatabasesSpecialized Databases
Book SeriesKeyword Search the Library's Catalog
EncyclopediasHandbooksOther
UT Arlington Statistics & Data ResourcesWeb Statistics & Data Resources
Comprehensive SitesResearch Centers
Citation GuidesGeneral Research HelpTutorials and/or Database Guides
This is the "Home" page of the "Controversial Issues" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Controversial Issues  

Use this research guide to identify resources that include information about controversial issues.
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2011 URL: http://libguides.uta.edu/controversialissues Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Access

While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current UT Arlington student, faculty member, or staff member.  See this page for help.

Getting Started

These databases are especially useful for finding information about controversial issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
    Rating
    Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary, full text database which includes articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
    Rating
    This database includes 20-30 page reports about broad social issues. Each report includes an overview and a pro/con section about the topic.
  • iPoll  
    Rating
    This database has the largest archives of public opinion polls with over 500,000 questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935. You will need to provide an email address the first time you use this database.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
    Rating
    This database indexes newspaper articles, news transcripts, newswire articles, and legal materials.
  • Points of View Reference Center  
    Rating
    This full text database provides access to opinion essays about controversial issues. It also indexes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
 

New York Times Op-Ed Pages

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Wall Street Journal Op-Ed Pages

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Tell US What You Think

How helpful was this guide?  Add your comments.
Very Helpful
Somewhat Helpful
Not Very Helpful
Dreadful

Instruction & Information Literacy Librarian

Profile Image
Not online? Leave your email address or post your question at http://on.fb.me/GLqrvZ
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip