Databases - Start HereEssential JournalsMagazines and NewspapersOther Useful DatabasesSpecialized Databases
BibliographiesKeyword Search the Library's CatalogOnline Text Collections
Additional Resources for Theses and DissertationsFind Theses and Dissertations of UT Arlington Students
UT Arlington Statistics & Data ResourcesWeb Statistics and Data Resources: National/InternationalWeb Statistics and Data Resources: State and Local
Associations/Societies/Trade Associations/OrganizationsBlogsComprehensive SitesJob Search SitesListservs/NewsgroupsResearch Centers
Citation GuidesInstruction OpportunitiesLibrary Course GuidesTopic GuidesTutorials and/or Database Guides
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Geographic Information Systems  Tags: gis geographic_information_systems maps geospatial data  

Subject Guide for Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
Last update: Jan 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uta.edu/gis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Web Statistics and Data Resources: National/International             Print Page
  

Web Statistics and Data Resources: National/International

Freely available resources providing U.S. and international datasets.
  • GOS - Geospatial One Stop  
      
    Your One Stop for Finding and Using Geographic Data
  • Census TIGER/Line Data  
      
    TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing) refers to the system and digital data base developed at the Census Bureau to support its mapping needs for the Decennial Census and other Bureau programs.
  • Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data (ESRI)  
      
    GIS users can download Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data in shapefile format for an area of interest. Download by county.
  • The National Map Seamless Server  
      
    The National Map Seamless Server is the ultimate location to explore and retrieve data. U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) and the EROS Data Center (EDC) are committed to providing access to geospatial data through The National Map.
  • American FactFinder  
      
    Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from Census 2000, the 1990 Decennial Census, the 1997 and 2002 Economic Censuses, the American Community Survey, the Population Estimates Program, and the Annual Survey of Manufactures.
  • National Atlas: Raw Data Download  
      
    The raw data we use to generate maps can be downloaded for free. Vector files are available in Shapefile and SDTS-TVP formats. National Atlas geostatistical data are in DBF format. Our images are GeoTIFF files.
  • USDA:NRCS Geospatial Data Gateway  
      
    Data repository developed jointly by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the Natural Resources Conservation Service. The Geospatial Data Gateway
    provides One Stop Shopping for natural resources or environmental data.
  • WorldClim  
      
    WorldClim is a set of global climate layers (climate grids) with a spatial resolution of a square kilometer. They can be used for mapping and spatial modeling in a GIS or other computer program.
  • Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)  
      
    CIESIN's mission is to provide access to and enhance the use of information worldwide, advancing understanding of human interactions in the environment and serving the needs of science and public and private decision making.
  • SRTM 90m Digital Elevation Data  
      
    The CGIAR-CSI GeoPortal is able to provide SRTM 90m Digital Elevation Data for the entire world.
  • Daymet: Daily Surface Weather and Climatalogical Summaries  
      
    Daymet is a model that generates daily surfaces of temperature, precipitation, humidity, and radiation over large regions of complex terrain.
  • EPA: Toxic Release Inventory (TRI) Program  
      
    The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a publicly available EPA database that contains information on toxic chemical releases and other waste management activities reported annually by certain covered industry groups as well as federal facilities.
  • Spatial Climate Analysis Service (SCAS): Prism  
      
    Data grids in ArcInfo ASCII format are available for all base climate parameters for the period 1895-Present. Use the data in your own GIS application to perform your own analysis or calculations.
  • Guide to Low Income Housing Datasets  
      
    Bibliography developed in Fall 2006
  • National Snow and Ice Data Center  
      
    The NSIDC supports research into our world's frozen realms: the snow, ice, glacier, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth's cryosphere.
  • Historical Census Browser  
      
    Explore state and county level demographics and generate maps of selected data.
  • National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)  
      
    Provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.
  • Social Explorer  
      
    Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1940 to 2000.
 

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Librarian

Profile ImageJoshua Been


Contact Info:
817-276-5826

Office Hours
Central Library, Rm. B29
Tues & Wed: 3-5pm
Fri: 12-2pm

Central Library, Rm. B20
Sat: 9-2pm & 5-8pm

Nedderman Hall, Rm. B03
Thurs: 3-5pm
Send Email

Subjects:
geographic information systems, data, statistics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait