Databases - Start HereEssential JournalsMagazines and NewspapersOther Useful DatabasesSpecialized Databases
BibliographiesKeyword Search the Library's CatalogOnline Text Collections
Additional Resources for Theses and DissertationsFind Theses and Dissertations of UT Arlington Students
UT Arlington Statistics & Data ResourcesWeb Statistics and Data Resources: National/InternationalWeb Statistics and Data Resources: State and Local
Associations/Societies/Trade Associations/OrganizationsBlogsComprehensive SitesJob Search SitesListservs/NewsgroupsResearch Centers
Citation GuidesInstruction OpportunitiesLibrary Course GuidesTopic GuidesTutorials and/or Database Guides
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Geographic Information Systems  Tags: gis geographic_information_systems maps geospatial data  

Subject Guide for Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
Last update: Jan 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uta.edu/gis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  

Databases - Start Here

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Multi-discipline, full-text database that covers: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    Database for scientific research that includes journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet
  • SpringerLink  
      
    E-journals and e-books on life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, humanities, business social sciences, law
  • Science Citation Index Expanded  
      
    Lists and tracks articles and authors cited by others in scientific journals. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching
  • GeoScienceWorld  
      
    Full text journals in the geosciences, including economic geology and paleontology, interlinked with GeoRef

Specialized Databases

  • ACM Digital Library  
      
    Includes full text of journals, magazines, and conference proceedings of the Association for Computing Machinery
  • Aerospace & High Technology Database  
      
    Online version of International Aerospace Abstracts, covering aeronautics, aerodynamics, space sciences, technology development in related fields. Indexes AIAA meeting papers, NASA reports, journal articles
  • Annual Reviews  
      
    Provides access to critical reviews of significant primary research written by leading scientists. Covers three broad areas: Biomedical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences
  • BioOne  
      
    Full text collection of over 70 bioscience research journals in biology, ecology, and environmental sciences. Most are peer-reviewed publications of small scientific societies and non-commercial publishers
  • Business Source Complete  
      
    Scholarly business database with full text for more than 1100 peer-reviewed publications, and indexing of important scholarly journals back to 1886
  • Civil Engineering Database  
      
    Index of all publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers: journal articles, proceedings, standards, technical notes, etc.
  • Compendex (Engineering Index)  
      
    Covers engineering research literature, containing references to citations from global engineering journals and conferences. To access, choose from "Select a database" drop-down list
  • EconLit  
      
    EconLit, the American Economic Association's database, is the world's foremost indexing and abstracting resource for economic literature. It provides links to full text articles in all fields of economics
  • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management  
      
    Multidisciplinary database that provides abstracts and references to literature covering all issues of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well other environment-related subjects
  • GeoRef  
      
    Covers the geology of North America since 1693 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933
  • JSTOR - The Scholarly Journal Archive  
      
    JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers
  • National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)  
      
    U.S. Environmental Protection Agency gateway to free digital and paper documents.
  • PAIS International  
      
    Provides subject access to public policy issues of concern to governments, including economic, political, and social background information and statistics. The scope is international
  • Project Muse  
      
    Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
  • Social Sciences Citation Index  
      
    Lists and tracks articles and authors cited by others in scientific journals. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching

Other Useful Databases

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Database (PQDT)  
      
    Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.
  • Web of Knowledge  
      
    Abstracts and citations in ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching

Essential Journals

  • International journal of geographical information science : IJGIS  
      
    The aim of this interdisciplinary and international journal is to provide a forum for the exchange of original ideas, techniques, approaches and experiences in the rapidly growing field of geographical information systems (GIS).
  • Journal of geographical systems  
      
    Journal of Geographical Systems, a journal dedicated to geographical information, analysis, theory, and decision making, aims to encourage and promote high quality scholarship on important theoretical and practical issues in regional science, geography, t
  • Cartography and geographic information science  
      
    Cartography and Geographic Information Science (CaGIS) is the official publication of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society (CaGIS), a member organization of the American Congress on Surveying and Mapping (ACSM).
  • Transactions in GIS  
      
    Transactions in GIS is an international journal which provides a forum for high quality, original research articles, review articles, short notes and book reviews...
  • International journal of health geographics  
      
    International Journal of Health Geographics is an Open Access, peer-reviewed, online journal fully dedicated to publishing quality manuscripts on all aspects of geospatial information systems and science applications in health and healthcare.
  • GeoInformatica  
      
    Located at the confluence of two rapidly advancing domains, GeoInformatica provides an effective forum for disseminating original and fundamental research and experience in the expanding uses of computer science for spatial studies.
  • The Cartographic journal  
      
    The Cartographic Journal (first published in 1964) is an established journal of record and comment containing authoritative articles and international papers on all aspects of cartography, the science and technology of presenting, communicating and analys
  • Annals of the Association of American Geographers  
      
    The Annals of the Association of American Geographers publishes original, timely, and innovative peer-reviewed articles that advance knowledge in all facets of the discipline.
  • GeoJournal  
      
    GeoJournal is an international journal encompassing all aspects of geography. Coverage includes such topics as human geography, physical geography, human-environment interactions, geographical information science, medical and health geography, and geograp

Magazines and Newspapers

  • Directions Magazine  
      
    Directions Magazine publishes weekly newsletters about geographic information systems, global positioning systems, desktop mapping, cartography, computer-aided design, remote sensing, web services, and more.
  • GeoCommunity: Spatial News  
      
    Spatialnews and the geocommunity provides news, data, educational material about maps, digital mapping, gis,gps,cad, and location-based services (lbs)
  • ArcNews Online  
      
    ArcNews is a news magazine published quarterly for the ESRI user community and for others interested in mapping and geographic information system (GIS) technology.
  • ArcUser Magazine  
      
    ArcUser Magazine provides practical, technical information on how GIS is used and how to use ESRI software most effectively.
  • Geospatial Solutions  
      
    Geospatial Solutions is the objective and authoritative forum for emerging intelligence about GIS and related spatial technologies.
 

What's Missing?

Do you have any suggestions for databases, magazines, newspapers, etc. that should be included on this list?  If so, post your suggestions in the "Comments."
 

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Librarian

Profile ImageJoshua Been


Contact Info:
817-276-5826

Office Hours
Central Library, Rm. B29
Tues & Wed: 3-5pm
Fri: 12-2pm

Central Library, Rm. B20
Sat: 9-2pm & 5-8pm

Nedderman Hall, Rm. B03
Thurs: 3-5pm
Send Email

Subjects:
geographic information systems, data, statistics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait