Last Updated: Nov 15, 2012
While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current UT Arlington student, faculty member, or staff member. See this page for help.
Distance Learners can use this link to get more information about how they can go about effectively using the library's services.
- AIAA Online Technical Information
Access to papers (approximately 4000/year) presented at conferences of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and related societies. "Meeting Papers" section contains citations and scanned images of actual documents;
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Full text articles and tables of contents from journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
- Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
- IEEE Xplore
"Search & browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) IEEE Xplore contains all of the IEEE & IET publications: Journals, transactions, magazines, conference & colloquia proceedings, and IEEE Standards.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science)
"Lists and tracks articles and authors cited by others in scientific journals. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching"
"ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of 2000+ Elsevier Science and Academic Press jourrnals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet."
- Shock and Vibration Digest
"Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline"
- Standards InfoBase
"Listing of industry and government standards. Some available in Library, others obtainable by request."
- Academic Search Complete
The worlds largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Offers critical information from many sources found in no other database, including peer-reviewed full text articles for 4600 periodicals
TL 1-484 Motor vehicles. Cycles