Databases - Start HereEssential JournalsMagazines and NewspapersOneSearchOther Useful DatabasesSpecialized Databases
Google Book SearchKeyword Search the Library's CatalogOnline Text Collections
AlmanacsBiographicalDictionariesEncyclopediasGovernment PublicationsHandbooks
Additional Resources for Theses and DissertationsFind Theses and Dissertations of UT Arlington Students
Associations/Societies/Trade Associations/OrganizationsBlogsComprehensive SitesJob Search SitesResearch Centers
Citation GuidesGeneral Research HelpInstruction OpportunitiesTopic GuidesTutorials and/or Database Guides
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Biology  Tags: cell_biology microbiology genomics bioinformatics botany ecology ornithology entomology mycology forensics herpetology neuroscience evolution physiology nutrition virology  

Resources for biology research
Last update: Sep 09th, 2008 URL: http://libguides.uta.edu/biology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Thanks for using the Biology Subject Guide!

The purpose of this subject guide is to identify for you the best places to begin your research, whether for writing your latest paper or looking for information to help move your research project forward. The resources identified here are ones that are most commonly used for researching topics tied to biology. Don't be surprised if I add or update the resources listed here. The goal is to ensure that you have the best and most current information. Also, be aware that the resources listed here are just some of the resources that you have at your disposal - there is always more and I am happy to help you find what you need. Just contact me or SEL using the information on the right.

FYI - For quick tips and tricks on using resources and the library, please see the Physics, MSE, CSE, EE, Biology blog.

 

Off Campus Access

While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current UT Arlington student, faculty member, or staff member.  See this page for help.

Databases - Start Here

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Multi-discipline, full text database covering subject areas of: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
  • Biological Abstracts  
      
    One of the foremost indexes to the life science journal literature ; Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology
  • BioOne  
      
    BioOne provides a unique aggregation of nearly 70 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 50 scholarly society and non-commercial publishers. The primary subject areas are biology, ecology and the environmental sciences
  • MEDLINE with Mesh  
      
    Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical services, and much more
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    Provides full text of more than 2000 Elsevier Science and Academic Press (IDEAL) jourrnals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJan Figa
Contact Info:
Science & Engineering Library
Nedderman Hall BO3
Box 19497
Arlington, TX 76019

817.272.2698 (W)
817.272.5803 (F)

http://library.uta.edu/sel
Send Email

Subjects:
Biology, Computer Science Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering, Mathematics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait