Skip to main content

Company & Industry: Case Studies

Welcome!

Case Studies

The information on this page will help you locate case studies; these can be found in books such as How Companies success in social business: Case studies and lessons from Adobe, Cisco and more companies by Shan Santos. 2015) or in databases as Business Source Complete, Emerald Management Xtra, OneSource, and other resources.  Need help? Email the Business Librarians at grs@uta.edu

Strategies for Locating Case Studies

Search Strategy Examples:
  • time management AND case stud*
  • Apple AND case stud*
  • healthcare cost* OR benefit* AND stud*

*  is a truncation symbol used to tell the database to return all forms of the word

Business Source Complete database:

  1. Asian Case Research Journal
  2. Business Case Journal
  3. Harvard Business Review (publish one case study per issues)
  4. Journal of Case Research
  5. Journal of Case Studies
  6. Journal of International Academicy of Case Studies
  7. Review of Business


Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

  1. Case Studies in Business, INdustry and Government Statistics
  2. Journal of Business Case Studies
  3. Review of Business & Finance Case Studies

Case Studies can be located in the following databases.  They are listed on the  database Database A to Z page.

OneSource

  1. Go to the Database A to Z page
  2. Click the letter "O", then click on OneSource in the list
  3. Or use this link to access OneSource
  4. Use the “Advanced search” option
  5. Next, select the “Business Topic” tab
  6. Scroll down to the Product Design, Management, and Marketing option, click the “plus” to expand the menu option
  7. Check the “Case Studies” box
  8. Go to the Free Text area and type in a search term or keyword such as “moneyball” in the search box.
  9. Date Range information can be changed to a specific range or time period.

 

Search Interface image:

Use the UTA Libraries Online  to locate case studies on your topic.

Search Examples:

  • finance AND case stud*
  • "decision making" AND case stud*
  • retail AND case stud*
  • "personnel management" AND case stud*
Loading

What is a Case Study?

A case study is a summary of a real or invented business situation. The study covers a variety of events that managers have or had to deal with over time and how the decisions they made effected the company or not.  A case study gives students an opportunity to analyze the problem/s or event/s that led to the organization’s success or failure.  Case studies are often used to illustrate theories studied in class.