Skip to main content

Boost Your Scholarly Impact: Getting Started

Measure Your Current Professional Impact

 

Before you begin completing steps that will enhance your scholarly profile, you may want to get a baseline measurement of your scholarly impact and digital identity right now.  

Before you can tell your research story, you might want to see what you have already written.

After following certain steps to help you build your digital identity, you can repeat these steps to note the changes and improvement to the accessibility of your scholarship and the quality of your public digital identity.

Throughout your career, check in on your "professional self" online and update areas that need attention.  

Taking stock of the ways in which your scholarship is discovered, viewed, and used can help give you ideas on expanding your reach.

Updating your professional profile can help potential collaborators and scholars network with you while making your work more discoverable, and will yield more citations of your work in future studies.  

These improvements will not only provide you with a strengthened portfolio for promotion but ensure that your scholarship continues through collaborations and future research.

Image result for Digital Identity

 

Start With The Basics

Google (and Google Scholar) Yourself.

View how your professional profile and scholarship are seen online via the most-used search engine.

Google your name (hint: if you have a common name, you may want to also Google your affiliation with UTA, or any other institutions along with it).  Record the different places you appear and note which results come up first (LinkedIn, UTA website, etc). Are these sites up-to-date? What could be improved? What results do you wish would rise to the top?

Freely available databases sometimes provide citation counts. The most popular of these is Google Scholar. Do the same as instructed above. How many citations do you have for each publication? Are your articles easy to find? Are they accessible in full-text?  For more information on linking Google Scholar to UTA see http://libguides.uta.edu/googlescholar

Need (Don't Have) a Google Scholar Profile?

Creating and maintaining a Google Scholar Profile can increase the status and reach of your scholarship and research.  You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics.

  1. Create or sign in to your Google account to set up your Author Profile. Google recommends using a personal account so that your profile is independent from your institutional account. Note that accounts and email addresses are different. You will need to use your official UTA email in your profile since Google Scholar requires valid university email addresses.
  2.  Add your articles to your profile (or skip this step and do it later).
  3. Choose or decline automatic updating.
  4. Click the "Go to my profile" button.
  5. Your profile will default to private.  Click the "Make it public" link to change the status.  You can change the status at any time by clicking the "Edit" button and checking/unchecking the "Make my profile public" box.  

Now you're ready to explore and review your citations!  And don't forget to update your profile regularly.  See Google Scholar Citations for detailed setup instructions and further information.

Dig a Little Deeper

Web of Science

Web of Science is the recognized standard for citation searching. You can obtain a Researcher ID and use it to view/track publication history in ISI-listed publications, create citation reports, and calculate h-index. Web of Science indexes over 12,000 high impact journals in 250 disciplines, and includes:

  • Science Citation Index (1965 to present)
  • Social Science Citation Index (1965 to present)
  • Biological Abstracts (1969 to present)
  • Medline (1950 to present)
  • SciELO Citation Index (1997 to present)

Check Web of Science

  1. Access Web of Science through the library's Database's A-Z list
  2. Switch from Basic Search to Cited Reference Search (blue arrow dropdown box)
  3. Enter information about the cited work and click “Search”
  4. Select the results you would like to view and click "Finish Search" - the results list includes all the articles citing the author and work you searched
  5. Click on the title of the citing article to reveal more about the number of references the author cited, and how many times he or she has been cited.

Journal Citation Reports

Per Thomson Reuters, the JCR provides quantitative tools for ranking, evaluating, categorizing, and comparing journals. The impact factor is one of these; it is a measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year or period. The annual JCR impact factor is a ratio between citations and recent citable items published. Thus, the impact factor of a journal is calculated by dividing the number of current year citations to the source items published in that journal during the previous two years 

 

Calculation for journal impact factor.
A= total cites in 1992
B= 1992 cites to articles published in 1990-91 (this is a subset of A)
C= number of articles published in 1990-91
D= B/C = 1992 impact factor

Scimago Journal & Country Rank - SJR

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR) is a public portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database.  These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains.  Journals can be compared or analysed separately.  Country rankings may also be compared or analysed separately.   Journals can be grouped by subject area, category or country.  Citation data is drawn from over 21,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide.

Publish or Perish

Another citation search software program isPublish or Perish, a free software program that analyzes data from Google Scholar. Publish or Perish has the same advantages and disadvantages as Google Scholar, with the added feature of deeper analysis.  To download the new version of Publish or Perish 5, click the link above and select New Publish or Perish 5.  Here you will find instructions on how to download the free software to your PC or Mac.