Skip to main content

Google :: Making the Most of your Search: Google Scholar

Find Full Text

Many academic journals indexed in Google Scholar are available via subscription only. When you locate an article, you might be asked to pay a fee to read the full text.

Helpful hints to save money when using Google Scholar:

  • Focus on the free content offered by Google Scholar. Look for full text links to the right of the search results.
  • Adjust settings to include libraries you have access to (such as UTA, your public library, and other institutions). See the box below for instructions.
  • Instead of paying for Google Scholar articles, search the Library's Journals A-to-Z to see which journals are available to UTA students, faculty, and staff.
  • If UTA Library does not subscribe to the journal you need, consider requesting the article through UTA's Interlibrary Loan service.

OR, start with the Library's discovery tool and limit results to full text content.

Add Full Text Library Content to Google Scholar

Step 1: Open settings from dropdown menu (next to "My Citations" button).

Step 2: Open "Library links" and search for up to five libraries you have access to.

Step 3: Save settings.

What is Google Scholar?


Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google Inc., used with permission.

Google Scholar is Google's academic search engine that searches across scholarly literature. It has extensive coverage, retrieving information from: 

  • academic publishers
  • professional organizations
  • university repositories 
  • professional websites
  • government websites

Google Scholar can be a good place to start a search, helping to:

  • Locate obscure references difficult to find in library databases
  • Find more details on partial citations or incorrectly cited works
  • Discover useful journals or databases to explore in more detail

Google Scholar Versus Library Databases

Benefits of searching library databases instead of Google Scholar

Benefits of searching Google Scholar instead of library databases

Bottom line

Google Scholar Advanced Search

Like Google, Google Scholar has an advanced search function to enable more precise searching. Additional functionalities include determining how your search terms should be searched, searching by author or source publication, and limiting by publication date.

To access the advanced search hover over the dropdown arrow in the search box.

Google Scholar Advanced Search
Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google Inc., used with permission.

Cite from Google Scholar

Google Scholar generates citations for MLA, APA and Chicago styles. 

Select Cite below a search result and select a style. (If you don't see the Cite option, select More below the search result to make it visible.)

CAUTION: These citations may include formatting or other errors.

Always check and correct generated citations using credible citation resources, particularly those recommended by your instructors or librarian.

Google Scholar Library

Google Scholar Library allows you to save and organize your own collection of articles within Google Scholar.

 

Try it!

Find similar articles

When you find a relevant article, Google Scholar will link to additional articles via:

Related articles: A list of similar articles and resources.

Cited by: A list of publications citing that article.

Both these links are available under every search result.

Google Scholar result with arrows pointing to Cited by and Related articles optionsGoogle and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google Inc., used with permission.

Alerts

Receive email updates based on your search criteria:

  • Perform your search
  • Select Create alert to the left of search results
  • Enter your email address and select number of results
  • Select Create alert button

You can also be notified when a particular article is cited:

  • Perform your search
  • Select Cited by below the appropriate article
  • Select Create alert to the left of search results
  • Enter your email address and select number of results
  • Select Create alert button

Useful links