Discover biographic details on U.S. and international novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters. Includes current writers and the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century
Discover biographic details on U.S. and international novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters whose entries appear in "Contemporary Authors" and "Contemporary Authors New Revision Series". This database can be searched in conjunction with the "Contemporary Literary Criticism Select" and "Dictionary of Literary Biography".
Provides full-text access to over 1,000 screenplays from significant films.
American Film Scripts contains over 1,000 scripts from significant films in the conventional screenplay format whenever possible. Many of the scripts have never been published before. The primary focus is on the written work, not the film itself, thus allowing scholars to study character development, structure of the film, plots, and scenes. The database can be searched by writers, scenes, characters, years, and subjects. It supports numerous disciplines, including film studies, history, sociology, and literature. Updated regularly.
Indexes international critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore
Provides access to citations from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts in addition to the historical aspects of printing and publishing. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Contains information on both classical and contemporary authors and their works. Obtain biographies of authors, bibliographies of all they have written, critical essays and contextual information
This all-inclusive database contains information on both classical and contemporary authors and their works. Obtain biographies of authors, bibliographies of all they have written, critical essays and contextual information. Search by the author's name, the title of the work, or by the title of the periodical or journal that is part of the database. This combined resource lets you search across the following individual databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's English Authors, Twayne's US Authors, Twayne's World Authors.
Covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights.
Play Index covers one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from playwrights such as Shakespeare, Aeschylus and Euripides, Moliere and many more. Content includes information on approximately 31,000 plays and over 600 monologues published individually or in collections dating from 1949 to present.
Provides published criticism on the works of creative writers who are now living or who died after 2000, as well as, other important 20th century authors. Also includes biographical information
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select covers creative writers now living or who died after January 1, 2000. It also includes the most studied authors of the 20th Century. Each entry includes a biographical essay, critical essays, and suggestions for further reading. This database can be searched in conjunction with the "Contemporary Authors" and "Dictionary of Literary Biography".
Operabase has documented operatic activity worldwide since 1996, with over 375,000 performances on file. It records the work of artists in over 900 theatres, and publishes season information to opera-goers in 23 languages.