What Is A Primary Source ?
Primary Sources are original materials that have not been edited, evaluated, or altered by a second party. Primary refers to the originality of the source rather than its importance to your topic.
In architecture primary sources can be historical manuscripts, business records, personal papers, as well as architectural drawings, photographs, and models.
On the 6th floor of Central Library, Special Collections specializes in (PRINT) historical materials relating to
(TARO) contains Special Collections' detailed guides. (SEARCH FOR: University of Texas at Arlington Library, Special Collections in drop down menu)
The New York Times (1851-2007)
Offers full-page and article images with search-able full-text back to the first issue.
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive(1885-1984)
Important resource for Texas History.
Chicago Defender (1956-1973)
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. A full-image is provided for the newspaper
Wall Street Journal (historical 1889-1993)
In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication.
Here are some of the maps from Special Collections
Covers Census from 1760-1960 (hosted by Univ. of VA)
US Census State & County QuickFacts
Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography
Official Portal of Texas: Population and Demographics
Links for sites with demographic details of Texas broken into state, city and county segments that incorporate business and industry data, climate information, incomes, median and average house prices, individual and household incomes, economic and financial details, national comparisons, census records, reports and online interactive research tools.
Here is UCSD Social Sciences & Humanities Library's video that defines primary versus secondary sources of information in the humanities.
Examples of Primary Sources
Are the following primary or secondary resources? Click here to find out. (from UMD libraries)
What is a primary source?
"Primary sources . . . are defined as the direct evidence of a time and place that you are studying – any material (documents, objects, etc.) that was produced by eyewitnesses to or participants in an event or historical moment under investigation. Secondary sources, in contrast, are interpretations – often generated by scholars – that are based upon the examination of multiple primary sources." (from Primary Source.org)