Begin with the names of family members and include for each:
Document the information you've gathered on your family from papers you or your family may already have on hand:
To continue the search for documentation for what you have, and to gather new information, the next step is to fill in the blanks with documentation found through research and additional resources. While some of the documentation you might be searching for can be acquired through county and state administrative offices, many such resources are also available online in digital form, such as:
Additional resources for getting started in genealogy research are provided below. The list is by no means exhaustive nor does the list represent an endorsement of any of the links shown.
Arlington Texas Family History Center - provides access to resources and databases not available online.
Dallas Public Library - Genealogy Section - one of the top ten genealogy resources in the U.S.
UTA Special Collections - town and county histories, old city directories, survey maps, family papers, family-published genealogies and histories.
The National Archives at Fort Worth - the Southwest regional facility for the National Archives and Records Administration
FamilySearch - access to online resources compiled by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
TX GenWeb Project - a quicklink to this subdivision of the U.S. GenWeb Project
Find a Grave - a database pinpointing grave locations and compilations of cemetery interments with tombstone images and more.
BillionGraves - a searchable database for locating cemeteries and burial plots.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries - a visual aid for changes in state, county, and territorial boundary lines will help you physically locate your ancestors. Records may suggest an ancestor moved, when actually the state or county line was changed.
County-Clerks.com - Contact information for all county clerk and court record offices in each of 50 states of the United States’ 3,143 counties and county equivalents. County offices have marriage licenses, divorce records, birth certificates, death certificates, and county judicial, probate, criminal, and court records. In some states, records may also be available through a centralized state office. (Caution: this website has advertising links to fee-based services.)
Texas Digital Newspapers - this resource provides online access to many early small-town newspapers throughout the State of Texas.
Castle Garden - The first immigration center for the port of New York from 1820 to 1892.
Ellis Island - Search passenger lists.
National Archives - Immigration records online consisting of ship passenger arrival records and land border entries.
African American Genealogy: How to Conduct African American Genealogical Research - link to PBS video.
African American Genealogy - Resources available from FamilySearch.org