Skip to main content

E-Books at the UT Arlington Library: About E-books

About e-books at the UT Arlington Library


Creative Commons image courtesy timonoko

The UT Arlington Libraries provide access to thousands e-books through a number of different companies (database vendors) such as those listed in the box to the right. Each company has a unique interface and different policies and procedures regulating how to use and download books.

All e-books have entries in the UT Arlington Library catalog. Enter your search, and click Books and select E-book only to view only e-books. Click on  eBook: Full Text Online. The title of an e-book will always be followed by [electronic resource]. Once you have found a book you want to access, look at the Holdings section at the bottom of the page, and click on the link next to Linked Resources.

eBooks on the Web

Kindle Free Popular Classics

http://www.amazon.com/s/?node=2245146011

See a list of classics offered for free download in ebook format on the Amazon Kindle.

The Internet Archive Libraries Collections

Offers free PDF downloads of thousands of public domain works scanned in from libraries across the county and across the world.

American Libraries collection

Canadian Libraries collection

Universal Library collection

Open Library

http://openlibrary.org/

The Internet Archive and participating libraries have selected digitized books from their collections that are available to be borrowed by one patron at a time from anywhere in the world for free. These books are in BookReader, PDF and ePub formats (and Daisy for the print disabled).

Project Gutenberg

http://www.gutenberg.org/

Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize, archive, and distribute cultural works.

Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Mobile Reader How To

E-Books Provided by the UT Arlington Library

Early English Books Online

Enter the Early English Books Online database.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

For help, see How To Access Early English Books Online.

Ebook Central

Enter Ebook Central. You will need to enter your NetID and password.

You may either read eBooks from within the browser, or download it temporarily to your computer, eBook reader, or mobile device.

For help, see How To Access Ebook Library Books.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

Enter EBSCOhost eBook Collection. Click on the eBooks link at the top of the page for the browsing interface.

You may either read e-books from within the browser, or download it temporarily to your computer, e-book reader, or mobile device.

For help, see How To Access EBSCO eBooks.

 

Science Direct

ScienceDirect is a collection of books as well as articles. Click here to browse ScienceDirect e-books. To filter out books that UT Arlington does not have access to, make sure the box next to Show full-text available only is checked.

ScienceDirect is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

SpringerLink

SpringerLink is a collection of books as well as articles. Click here to view only SpringerLink e-books. To filter out books that UT Arlington does not have access to, make sure the box next to Include Preview Only Content is not checked.

Containing hundreds of e-books (usually electronic versions of paper titles UTA Libraries own), SpringerLink is divided into Online Libraries of architecture and design, behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, mathematics and statistics, medicine, physics and astronomy, professional and applied computing.

For help, see How To Access SpringerLink e-books.