Subject and Course Guides: High School Research Resources: Find Articles

Databases - Start Here

These databases are especially useful for beginning your research.

NOTE: If you are not a UT Arlington student, you must be physically in the library to access these databases. If you need to access these please come to UTA Central library, visit the Service on the first floor, and request an extended use computer pass.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
America: History and Life (Full-Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural literature, from prehistory to present. NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive source for U.S. and Canadian history and culture, from prehistoric times to the present. The database contains indexing, abstracts, and full-text for over 1,700 journals as well as books, book reviews, theses/dissertations, and film project reviews. A strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including English abstracts of articles published in more than 40 languages. This database is an excellent bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of American history, Canadian history, popular culture, American studies, literature/folklore, genealogy, women's studies/gender studies, multicultural studies, anthropology, sociology, and the history of science. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. Updated regularly.

NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.
Historical Abstracts (Full-Text) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts, and full-text to literature on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information.
You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database for scientific research that includes journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

Find Information About Current Events

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports focused on topics of current interest covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. A great tool to use for discovering research topics and gathering background information.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2019) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2019) Historical Papers: The New York Times (1851-2019) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue
ProQuest Historical Newspapers---The New York Times is a full-image archive that brings the entire historical run of The New York Times, the definitive voice of American journalism since 1851.

Find In-Depth, Specific Information

Subject Guides
Find a research guide related to your specific area of interest (e.g., computer science, physics, music) and explore the databases and journals listed in the guide.