Skip to main content

Finding Sources for Publishing: Finding
Collaborators

This guide has been created as a resource for helping faculty and graduate students who are interested in knowing how to find sources to publish in, and how to find sources for collaborative work.

Process for Finding Collaborators

The following steps should guide you when finding prospective collaborators:

  1. Find out who is doing similar work:
    read the scholarly literature - journals, articles, newsletters, etc
    explore databases of funded projects - e.g. NSF
    Review conference programs
  2. Get an address or contact information
  3. Write and ask/express interest&nbsp

Types of Collaboration

Collaboration can exist on different levels:

Faculty - Faculty

Student - Faculty

Student - student

Student - Community

Faculty - Community

Faculty/student - Community

 

Associations

  • Social Science Research Council (SSRC) is an independent, nonprofit international organization founded in 1923. It nurtures new generations of social scientists, fosters innovative research, and mobilizes necessary knowledge on important public issues
  • Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
  • Urban Affairs Association  (UAA) is the international professional organization for urban scholars, researchers, and public service professionals
  • American Planning Association - APA is the nation's foremost membership organization for those working to build better communities through planning
  • Associations Unlimited - Combines data from the entire Encyclopedia of Associations series and includes additional IRS information on nonprofit organizations, for a total of more than 456,000 organizations
  • American Society for Public Administration - According to its website, this association is the largest for professionals in the field of Public Administration

Collaborative and Research Networks

Sources for Finding Prospective Collaborators

Sources for finding collaborative partners can be both formal and informal. There are several places that one could go to find out who is doing what research, and in the process, identify possible partners for collaboration.

At the institutional level, there is the Research Expertise at UT Arlington page. You can search by various profiles, including expertise, or the UTA Faculty Profiles.

In some databases you can also see who the most prolific authors on various topics are.

  • Researcher ID, a module in Web of Science, is a database of researchers from around the world who have published in the journals indexed in its database.
  • Pivot - (subscription needed) - From Community of Scholars
  • ISI Highly Cited - Search this database to identify the researchers who are the most highly cited within each category for the period 1981-2008. (free database; last updated February 11, 2009)

 

Free Sources                                                                         

There are also free sources that one can use to find collaborators in one's field. Some of these are social networking sites for scholars, or blogs written by researchers/scholars.

    • Google Scholar - "...helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research."
    • LinkedIn - "...world’s largest professional network on the Internet with more than 150 million members in over 200 countries and territories."
    • Mendeley - "...a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research." -- from the Mendeley website
    • academia.edu - "...a platform for academics to share research papers. The company's mission is to accelerate the world's research." -- from Academia.edu website
  •  Blogs - scholars are using academic blogs to connect with colleagues around the world, and to share their expertise.

Related Articles