Skip to main content

Management 4322 - Organizational Strategy: Research Help

Resources for Dr. A. McFadyen classes

Citation Resources

APA Style Guide to Electronic References
    Offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA style. -  NetID and password login required.

Citation Sources - Trinity University
     Offers a variety of citation styles with examples. Need to create an annotated bibliography?
     Checkout Trinity University's Citing Sources website.

Citing Business Databases - APA style
     Excellent citing listing - provided by the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Citing Factiva database - APA style
     Randolph-Macon College, Ashland, Virginia

RefWorks
     A tool that allows users to create a personal database of research, download citations and generate accurate,
     concise bibliographies for research papers.

RefWorks
     How to use RefWorks - Quick step-by-step guide. (PDF) RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database
    
manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online
     databases. These references can be used in writing bibliographies for papers and to automatically format the paper
     and the bibliography in seconds. Various writing styles are accommodated.  The RefWorks Write-N-Cite module
     requires the UT Arlington Group Code.  Off-campus users of Write-N-Cite must login using the Group Code to
     download the free utility.  Get Group Code

Zotero
     "Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
     It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."

Easy Bib
     Easy Bib will help you to cite your sources. Just remember that you need to double check that the content and
     formatting is correct.

 

Loading

RefWorks 3 (New) and Cite-n-Word

Research Tips

Before starting to search an article database for articles are you topic some thought should be put into what you need for the research assignment or project.  This planning will help save time and provide more relevant search results.  The list of suggestions below is meant as a guide to help you plan your research project.

  • Do you need up-to-date or historical information?
  • Are you limited to a specific time period? (i.e. January 1944 to December 1945)
  • Create a list of "keyword" the are important for your topic.  (depression, work place, boss)
  • Create a list of synomyns or other words that suggest the same meaning (i.e. boss, supervisor, manager, employer)
  • Think about ways to combine these words  (depression AND health) = AND search searches for both words and will narrow the search results.   An OR search (depression OR health) broadens the search results
  • Once you perform your seach - review the results.
  • Like the results?  If not try changing your keywords. 
  • If you are using Business Source Complete you can check the Subject area (left side of the page) for other keyword or subject terms

 

Business Librarian

Carol Byrne's picture
Carol Byrne
Contact:
Central Library, rm. 516 B
Office Hours: Mon. & Thurs. By Appointment

Business Bldg., rm. 342 (part-time)
Office Hours: Mon. & Thurs. By Appointment

Email best way to contact me.