Alt-PressWatch provides full-text access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals published by alternative and independent American presses, from 1970 to present. This database covers a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, education, grassroots organizing, indigenous peoples, labor, public policy, religion, and much more. Updated monthly.
The Armed Conflict Database (ACD), produced by the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), monitors international, internal, and terrorist armed conflicts worldwide, focusing on political, military, and humanitarian trends in current conflicts, from local rebellions to inter-state conflicts. It provides comprehensive information for each conflict, including: background details; weekly timelines; monthly and annual updates; status of the conflict; statistics including costs (in U.S. dollars), fatalities, internally displaced persons (IDP), refugees, and returnees; and reports related to human security, military and security actions, and political trends. Conflicts are monitored whether active, subject to a ceasefire, or halted by a peace accord. Users can generate reports and download data as well as browse year-by-year analyses and fact sheets. Updated regularly.
Associations Unlimited contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit organizations in all fields. It is composed of data from the entire Encyclopedia of Associations series as well as data from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. Additionally, the database contains association materials for some 2,600 major U.S. national associations, including brochures, pamphlets, logos, and membership applications. This database is useful for: locating national, international, and local associations; monitoring association trends; identifying related associations; networking and making professional contacts; and marketing to associations, their members, and markets.
CQ Almanac provides authoritative coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the U.S. Congress from 1945. The Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.
It is a full text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Search interfaces are in both English and Spanish. Information is available in the areas of politics, education, sociology, Spanish language, journalism, the arts, the environment, and ethnic studies. Groups included are African American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native Peoples.
Instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference resources such as Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence, and PDR Family Guide to Health and Nutrition. Key health web sites are also listed, as well as 2,200 general interest health publications, and over 400 health and medical journals. Search under latest news or by subject or key words.
Pop Culture Universe: Icons Idols Ideas (Academic) indexes over 3000 entries on American and world popular culture that support history, literature, and other social studies and humanities research and teaching. In additions to full-text articles, there are images and some videos. The database is continually expanded with revisions to existing entries and the addition of new content. The Ideas Exchange sections provide students with examples of research papers.
ProQuest Statistical Insight contains information from associations, commercial publishers, federal and state agencies, international intergovernmental organizations and research organizations. Included in Insight are the American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index and the Index to International Statistics.
Zoological Record Plus, produced by BIOSIS, is the most comprehensive database for access to published research on the entire animal kingdom. It includes references and abstracts from over 6500 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports. All major areas of zoology are represented, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
AccessEngineering is a reference tool that contains textbooks targeted for upper level and elective courses, a series of Schaum’s Outlines exercise drills and professional handbooks for engineers in all disciplines. With over 750 titles, you will find supplemental material (including videos, charts, calculators, etc) that can be incorporated into courses, ingraining in students the foundational background they are required to understand in order to execute the hands-on projects in their Senior Design courses, internships and future professional work.
America's News diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. The database contains 1,250 sources from 53 states and territories and has 10 source types. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. This content is not available for acquisition in digital form from any source other than EBSCO Publishing, and keyword searching is available on all titles.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections exists as a series of five databases created from a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1876. These databases include 6,500 titles featuring more than 10 million pages of content from the seventeenth century through the late nineteenth century. The collection also contains titles in more than
two dozen languages including French, German, Norwegian, Spanish, and more.
Credo Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 645 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.