In-depth coverage of Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States in scholarly journals from around the world.
HAPI Online provides in-depth coverage of Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States in social science and humanities journals from around the world. Subjects covered include political, economic and social issues, as well as, arts and humanities. Where possible, links to the full-text articles are provided. See list of journals
Latino Literature covers poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish from Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Latino Literature covers poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish from Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. Almost a third of the database is made up of previously unpublished or rare materials. Also included are supplementary resources, such as playbills and performance material, poetry readings, book presentation flyers, book covers, and photographs
Provides access to a vast collection on U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture, from colonial times to 1960. Content is in Spanish or English with indexing and searching available in both languages.
The Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 provides access to a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture. The collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest international project to locate, preserve, and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. It includes thousands of historical articles, newspapers, religious and political pamphlets, broadsides, historical books, letters, short stories, poems, advertisements, and more. The content is mostly in Spanish (80%) with some materials in English (20%). It is indexed and searchable in both languages.
Presents manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women’s rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. The database features over 250,000 pages of manuscript content, over 100 newspaper titles, and over 400 books. The collection draws its content from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project” that seeks to gather lost or rare documents and publications pertinent to Hispanic history and culture. Formerly called Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2.
Latin American Women Writers is a searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
In addition to prose, poetry, and drama by women writers in Latin America, this collection includes essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries. This is a work in progress that will contain 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays along with 300 plays when complete.
Brings together Grove Music Online and several other Oxford music resources allowing the users to search all at one time. NOTE: Only 3 simultaneous users allowed.
Oxford Music Online brings together the following music resources allowing users to search all at once: Grove Music Online includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz and covers church music, composers, ethnomusicology, instruments, jazz, music genres, music printing, music publishing, music terminology, musicians, notation, performance practice, popular music, and world music The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) which offers articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres. The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd Edition, Revised which supplements Grove’s with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Encyclopedia of Popular Music edited by Colin Larkin and covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.
Covers all aspects of the world of music, from both scholarly and popular music journals
The International Index to Music Periodicals covers all aspects of the world of music, from both scholarly and popular music journals. Subjects covered include musicians, history of music, musicology, instruments, music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition, world music, obituaries. Some journals are available in full text format.
Over 321,000 tracks of music can be downloaded. Primarily classical standard repretoire, with some jazz, popular, world music, and historical recordings. NOTE: Only 10 simultaneous users allowed.
NAXOS is a collection of all of the Naxos catalogues of recordings along with those from other leading independent labels. Users can stream a wide variety of classical, jazz, new age, and world music. The collection is benchmarked against the Music Library Association's Basic Music Library. It has simple and advanced searching, common (non-proprietary) software requirements and extensive background information such as complete liner notes.
IMSLP is the International Music Score Library Project (or Petrucci Music Library) which was started in 2006. The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge. IMSLP has over 102,959 works, 342,314 scores, 38,827 recordings, 13,705 composers, and 353 performers.
Provides comprehensive coverage of international publications on music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature provides comprehensive coverage of international publications on music, including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.