Last Updated: Apr 10, 2013
The purpose of this guide is to point researchers to information in researching aspects related to the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and Ally communities. While not comprehensive in scope, we have included links to Library, Campus, Local/Regional and National print and electronic materials and web sites.
- Academic Search Complete
Offers critical information from many sources found in no other database, including peer-reviewed full text articles for almost 4600 periodical titles with more than 100 scholarly journals dating back to 1965.
- Alt-Press Watch
Coverage: 1995-present. Alt-PressWatch provides full-text to more than 190 U.S. alternative and independent newspapers and journals. This database supports a broad range of subject areas: arts, media and popular culture, education, environment and ecology, history, journalism, etc.
JSTOR is an archive collection of over 620 full text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers.
- LGBT Life
LGBT Life is an indexing and abstracting resource covering world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes links to some full text resources.
- People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
People with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
- Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center provides a series of articles representing multiple controversial viewpoints. This resource can be used as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
- Women & Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000
A repository of primary and secondary documents in the field of U.S. Women's History. Included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. Women's History, advertisements, book chapters, diaries, images, legal documents, letters, organizational notes, transcripts of speeches, along with scholarly interpretations.
A large number of Campus, DFW-area and National resources exist to benefit the LGBTQA communities.
Diversity at UTA
DFW-Area and National Resources
The Dallas Way - In the Organization's words: "We are a collection of Happy Historians who have joined together to ensure the GLBT community’s rightful place in the overall history of Dallas, Texas."
The LGBTQA Program UTA maintains an excellent site with links to many DFW-Area and National resources: