Skip to main content

Finance, Real Estate, & Real Estate Law: Data & Legal Resources

This guide directs UT Arlington Students and Faculty to Resources related to Corporate Finance, Investing, Quantitative Finance, Real Estate and Legal Resources that include Cases, Law Review Articles, & other Real Estate information.

Wharton Research Data Services - Datasets

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)  UT Arlington faculty who are currently employed at UT Arlington and graduate students who are currently enrolled at UT Arlington can register for a WRDS Account.This is the platform for a variety of databases used primarily by UT Arlington College of Business faculty and graduate students. All individual accounts must be approved. Most accounts are approved within 48 hours or less. Faculty can also request class accounts. Contact a Business Librarian for more information. The following list represents the major database subscriptions available using the WRDS platform/interface. 

Audit Analytics  Audit Analytics provides detailed research on over 150,000 active audits and more than 10,000 accounting firms. A primary data source for tracking and analysis of public company disclosures related to the audit.

Compustat Data items from the Income Statement, Balance Sheet, and Cash Flow sections of Financial Statements are available on an historical and current basis annually or quarterly. Our subscription includes many subsets, such as North America, Global, Bank and Historical Segments. Also included is Execucomp executive compensation data.

CRSP (Center for Research in Securities Prices) Security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Our subscription now includes CRSP/COMPUSTAT Merged Database.

Eventus  Software for event studies using data read directly from CRSP stock databases or pre-extracted from any source. An event study can be executed with daily or monthly data centered on a single date for each firm.

FactSet Fundamentals  A global database of fundamental financial data.

FactSet Ownership   Provides global institutional, mutual fund, stakeholder, and float-related share ownership of both companies and holders.

GMI Ratings   Corporate governance datasets branded as “The Corporate Library” are now provided by GMI Ratings providing corporate board structure, etc.

IBES (Institutional Brokerage Estimates System) Summary and historical individual analyst forecasts of company earnings, cash flows, and other important financial items, as well as buy-sell-hold recommendations.

KLD Database KLD Research & Analytics, Inc., now owned by MSCI is the leading authority on social research.

NYSE Trade and Quote Database (TAQ)   Intraday tick by tick transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq (NMS) and SmallCap issues. Historical data purchased covers 2006 to 2013.

OptionMetrics  Ivy DB OptionMetrics has historical price and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets.

RiskMetrics  RiskMetrics provides corporate governance data.

WRDS SEC Analytics Suite    WRDS SEC ready-to-use parsed contents and filings archives allow users to explore and effectively retrieve data sets searching across multiple entity filings. The suite provides a comprehensive survivor-bias-free historical linking table among Compustat’s GVKEY, historical CUSIP, and SEC’s CIK featuring an additional 3,000 historical GVKEY-CIK links to Compustat.

Real Estate Data

Datastream  Historical Time Series data related to economics, stocks, exchange rates, etc., as well as real estate, can be found in our  Datastream database.  One example is the Case/Shiller Index for housing sales by U.S. regions and metro areas. Other data series are also available. Limited access is available to Datastream with two computers in Central Library on the 2nd floor. Small "Datastream" signs are attached to the monitors to help you identify the computers. Ask a library staff member or a Business Librarian (Offices located on 4th floor: 410 or 410A) to direct you to the appropriate computers. Business Librarians can also help you get started using Datastream.

Real Estate Legal Resources

WestLawNext is the database formerly known as Campus Research. It can be accessed from the Database A to Z list on the Library home page (students, faculty and staff only from off campus).

LexisNexisAcademic provides federal and state statutes and case law, as well as full text articles from various legal periodicals. Access from the Database A to Z list on the Library home page (students, faculty and staff only, from off campus).

 
Web Sites
SEC.gov 

Publicly traded companies related to Real Estate have industry codes such as (NAICS 533110 or SIC 6500)

Business Librarian

Ruthie Brock's picture
Ruthie Brock
Contact:
UT Arlington
Central Library, 514
& Business Bldg, 342 (Part Time)
(817) 272-7152
brock@uta.edu (Best Way to Reach Me)